New to the car modding thing.

Mach1Run

Jun 25, 2004
Wylie, Texas
I have a 97 v6 coupe that I bought as my first car when i started college. Until now, it has remained bone stock except for recently replacing the tape deck for a CD player. Now I have the time and interest to try and make it some thing a little different than all the other mustangs in town, but I have zero experience working on cars beyond changing my oil.

I would like to learn to do as much of the mod work myself rather than drop it off at the shop and have it done so any DIY projects you can suggest would be very welcome.

I dont know if this is the correct way to do a project like this but my plan was to start with the air intake and maybe the exhuast since it seems like the car will need to breathe well to get the most out of just about any other engne mods. I also thought about getting some underdrive pulleys but almost all i can find are sets for the v8.

My goal in building up the car is not to create a drag car but something that has a nice sound ( through side ported exhuast, i love the way that looks :D ), and enough handling and response to be alot of fun to drive.

Thank you in advance for your input.

• Sponsors (?)

OK, so you've decided to improve your 'Stang. I like that. Modding costs money though. Now, I want to warn you that it can add up pretty quick. You can spend $2g's in less than 5 minutes.
So, here is my input.
-An ASP pulley is cheap and effective and you can get one at www.aspracing.com (you will need a different belt with that). This is DIY.
-People argue about cold air intakes if they produce more HP or not, but most have them. Mac is the most popular brand I believe. This is DIY.