OT: Firefox users, white screen after posting a reply??

Discussion in 'Feedback Area | Testing Zone' started by iwashmycar, Nov 9, 2006.


  1. iwashmycar

    iwashmycar Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2004
    Messages:
    1,366
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    39
    Alright...I had a big problem using Internet Explorer....ditched it. I downloaded that Mozilla Firefox, and it is actually very nice, but after i post a reply in any thread, itll go to a white screen....like it is inbetween pages...... The hour glass is there, but it never goes back to the page until I hit the "GO" button again. My reply will then be there..

    I was wondering if there is some option i cant find thatll fix it....The help menus suck:nonono:



    /adam/



    EDIT: when i wrote this it took a little while, but there was no "inbetween" looking screen
    #1
  2. RsStanG1987

    RsStanG1987 I shaved all my pubes playing this game.

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2004
    Messages:
    1,563
    Likes Received:
    39
    Trophy Points:
    59
    mine was doing that too so i went back to I/E
    #2
  3. niklid05

    niklid05 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2004
    Messages:
    176
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have that problem too. I just post. Then hit the stop button then click on the link and press the enter button. Works everytime for me.
    #3
  4. iwashmycar

    iwashmycar Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2004
    Messages:
    1,366
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    39
    damn...might have to get IE again... I hate extra steps
    #4
  5. timeless2

    timeless2 Vi Veri Veni Versum Vicus Vici Admin Dude

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 1999
    Messages:
    10,303
    Likes Received:
    92
    Trophy Points:
    89
    It's a FF issue with how AJAX renders the page. I'd reinstall FF or go back or up to a different version.
    #5
  6. Synned

    Synned took tubgirl on a date and got banned

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2005
    Messages:
    1,001
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I WILL fix this problem!
    #6
  7. KcMstang

    KcMstang Founding Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2001
    Messages:
    1,575
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I went back to the NEW version of IE with the same TAB feature as FF. Its been working well so far so I'm stick with it.
    #7
  8. Marlboro_Man

    Marlboro_Man Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2005
    Messages:
    449
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I have the same problem too, however it only happens when I use the quick reply at the bottom of the page. If i use the regular reply button it works as it should.
    #8
  9. timeless2

    timeless2 Vi Veri Veni Versum Vicus Vici Admin Dude

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 1999
    Messages:
    10,303
    Likes Received:
    92
    Trophy Points:
    89
    Exactly. The quick reply feature is an AJAX feature.
    #9
  10. 90

    90 Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    206
    Trophy Points:
    43
    i have the talk fourm as my book mark, so after i post it goes white.. then i just click the book mark, takes me right back to the talk section, and i continue on.. doesnt bother me anymore, its a system i have now..
    #10
  11. iwashmycar

    iwashmycar Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2004
    Messages:
    1,366
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    39
    ya i like the bookmark feature....the IE didnt have it arranged that way


    EDIT: wow i didnt even know there was a support forum....thanks for the move
    #11
  12. timeless2

    timeless2 Vi Veri Veni Versum Vicus Vici Admin Dude

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 1999
    Messages:
    10,303
    Likes Received:
    92
    Trophy Points:
    89
    Welcome, you are. ;)
    #12
  13. Synned

    Synned took tubgirl on a date and got banned

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2005
    Messages:
    1,001
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The quick reply has nothing to do with web 2.0...
    It's simply a regular form on the page. The only AJAX I can think of on StangNet is the search feature, which checks up on user names as you type them in.

    Anyhow...if anyone has ever heard of greasemonkey, I'm going to try and find/make a script that will automatically redirect you back to the thread you came from.
    #13
  14. iwashmycar

    iwashmycar Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2004
    Messages:
    1,366
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    39
    i have no clue what your saying lol....but ill keep in touch to see what ya got!

    thx
    #14
  15. timeless2

    timeless2 Vi Veri Veni Versum Vicus Vici Admin Dude

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 1999
    Messages:
    10,303
    Likes Received:
    92
    Trophy Points:
    89
    Eau contraire.

    AJAX (in this application) allows content to stream without a postback event.
    #15
  16. Synned

    Synned took tubgirl on a date and got banned

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2005
    Messages:
    1,001
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I completely apologize :). With only using FF to view Stangnet, I was never able to see what it did, :). I thought it posted and just reloaded.

    So do you know any javascript? It would be awesome if we could get a script made. Greasemokey (if you haven't heard about, which I'm sure you have) enables you to run a user made script on a particular website.
    But now since its ajax, I don't think it's possible...just thinking out loud.
    #16
  17. timeless2

    timeless2 Vi Veri Veni Versum Vicus Vici Admin Dude

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 1999
    Messages:
    10,303
    Likes Received:
    92
    Trophy Points:
    89
    No sweat. We are all here to learn from each other. :nice:
    I dabble.
    #17
  18. 85_SS_302_Coupe

    85_SS_302_Coupe it sucks (I know) to be on the receiving end

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2003
    Messages:
    9,834
    Likes Received:
    814
    Trophy Points:
    163
    I've always had this issue with FF, sometimes it does it but not always. It usually only does it on this site though.
    #18
  19. fivespeedsteed

    fivespeedsteed Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2003
    Messages:
    1,094
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    39
    this happens to me too, only when i do a quick reply though. woah sorry i broght this thread back, i forgot i was lookin at old posts.
    #19
  20. Kilgore Trout

    Kilgore Trout Fried or Broiled ?

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2005
    Messages:
    9,413
    Likes Received:
    255
    Trophy Points:
    124
    I hate that white screen so much :nonono:
    #20

Share This Page