scared about getting a dyno tune

Discussion in 'Fox 5.0 Mustang Tech' started by MattTheBat83, Mar 24, 2009.


  1. MattTheBat83

    MattTheBat83 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    203
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    im getting my 89 dyno tuned and im a little nervous it's gunna blow up. i've had a hard time researching how they tune it. if anyone can give me some info on exactly how this works it would be appreciated.
    #1
  2. 2002BLGT

    2002BLGT Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2003
    Messages:
    2,949
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    59
    Location:
    Bedford VA
    where are you planning on going ? most guys start with a VERY conservative tune to keep everything safe and then up timing and lean the fuel till you get a number that is considered safe on the parts you have
    #2
  3. timeless2

    timeless2 Vi Veri Veni Versum Vicus Vici Admin Dude

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 1999
    Messages:
    10,314
    Likes Received:
    96
    Trophy Points:
    89
    Location:
    the Shadow Gallery
    Why would you be worried about a dyno tune? Unless the shop/tuner you are going to is a complete dump/tool, you should be fine.

    As far as the "trauma" on the car goes...well, you likely beat on your car more each time you drive it than what any stress a respectable tuner will put the car through.
    #3
  4. bubba-dough

    bubba-dough Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2004
    Messages:
    1,056
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Indiana
    First off, as long as you are going to a good reputable shop you don't have anything to worry about. The first thing they will do is give you a waiver to sign and a paper to declare that it is mechanically sound and has oil, blah blah blah. It will ask you everything about the engine and fuel system. There should also be a place to write any issues your are having like surging idles, cutting out, stalling, etc. If not make sure and tell them. Then they will give it a once over. Then strap it to the dyno, attach all necassary equipment (data logger, monitors, chip, etc) and set the timing to base. They won't just go hammering wot on it. They will see how the car is responding and adjust accordingly. Trust me they don't want to blow your car up no more than you want them to. That doesn't make repeat business or bring in new business.
    #4
  5. 85_SS_302_Coupe

    85_SS_302_Coupe it sucks (I know) to be on the receiving end

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2003
    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    856
    Trophy Points:
    173
    Location:
    Northern KY
    In short, if your car can't handle winding it out to about 6k RPM, then you probably should be worried about other things and not getting it tuned.
    #5
  6. MattTheBat83

    MattTheBat83 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    203
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    so i brought my car to the tuner and they told me they were going to do it without putting in a chip. i thought this was a little strange but they told me that they can do it just by adjusting the timing and fuel pressure. does my car need a chip to be tuned properly? and what kind of chip do i need?
    #6
  7. bubba-dough

    bubba-dough Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2004
    Messages:
    1,056
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Indiana
    lol, that is not a "real" dyno tune and you are not going to get nowhere close to the power, driveablity, etc that you will get out of a "real" dyno tune. I hope they aren't sticking it to ya price wise. A real dyno tune is ~$600. What you are describing is about ~$200. To answer your question...yes you have to be on a dyno and have a chip burned (unless you have a Tweecer, Anderson PMS, etc) to be tuned properly.

    I would find a good tuner....
    #7
  8. MattTheBat83

    MattTheBat83 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    203
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    so what kind of chip do i need?
    #8

Share This Page