Sequential tail light help...again

I know, I know, there are a million threads about them, but none seemed to answer my question. Here's the deal

I'm a tech at a ford dealer. A guy traded in his 06 mustang GT, which had sequential tail lights. He bought another car, and had no use for them, so I asked the salesman who delt with the customer if he wanted them back, customer said no, so I yanked em out. A year goes by (as of yesterday) and I finally installed them. They where a plug and play style for the 06, so I cut the modules out of the harness, and followed the instructions on American Muscle's website for installing them on 96-04 vehicles. The modules looked the same (black pill looking shape with 5 wires coming out) Wire colors where even the same for both styles for 05-09, and 96-04, so I figured no issues. I did the passenger side first, twisted wires together to make sure it worked, and it did, so I soldered everything together. Did the driver's side one, and for some reason, it doesn't work all that great.

The problem is, The outside 2 lights flash at the same time. The inside one will flash first, then the outside 2, at the same time. I checked all my wiring, everything is okay. I started the car up and checked again, and all of a sudden, it works fine. Now, I don't really care that it doesn't work when the car isn't running, because, when am I going to be turning left, when my car isn't running? haha, But for anyone that knows me, knows that I'm particular about my car, and I just would rather it work the way its supposed to. Anyone have any suggestions?

• Sponsors (?)

I can think of 2 possibilities:

-1- One of the modules is sensitive to voltage. The system voltage will be higher when the engine is running (14V-16V versus 12V-13V).
-2- There is excess resisitance in the the turn signal wiring and/or switch on one side.