Some Basic CAI Questions

richn41

Mar 14, 2007
Newbie here. I just started reading up on the CAI's. I know most of my questions have already been hashed out on these boards but I got tired of reading and searching.

I'm looking at getting a CAI, but I'm not sure about the tune/no tune. Can somebody explain what is going on with the tune and if it is difficult? I've seen terms tossed around like 87 or 93 tune. I'm assuming that is refering to octane? Also, do ALL tuner/Intake combos allow you to put the stock tune back on at anytime if you so choose (like if I had to take it back to the dealer for something - I already read the discussion about disconnecting the battery, etc).

Finally, I was looking at the Granatelli no tune (25 HP gain) and the C&L (both tune: 26 HP, and no tune: 10 HP). The Granatelli HP numbers seem pretty high for a no tune option. Is that because it comes with a new calibrated MAF? I like the Granatelli for it's looks and the claims on HP gain but I'm a little bit skeptical.

I really want the most "bang for my buck" and I wouldn't mind paying more for a tuned system. What do you all think? Does anybody have experience with these CAI's?

Also, what about K&N's system?

Thanks in advance for your advice.

Rich

• Sponsors (?)

The bottom line is: If the CAI does not require a tune it's because the there's not much increase in airflow compared to stock and the car's maf can tell the computer to add the small increase in fuel that will be needed. If the CAI requires a tune it's because the airflow increase is much more intense and to the point where the maf and computer are not capable of adding the fuel which will be required unless the computer is re-flashed with a hand tuner. Hand tuners cost about $399 and they are simple to use. I have a Diablosport tuner and it's been great. It will allow you to adjust lots of things like idle speed, correct the speedo due to gear changes or tire size changes, turn traction control off, and so on.