Spark Plugs and Wires

Discussion in 'SN95 V6 Mustang Tech' started by filipinostang, Dec 2, 2003.


  1. filipinostang

    filipinostang New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2003
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Any suggestions on what brand of

    Spark Plugs and Wires.

    If you do make a suggestion please include why.

    Thanks alot much appreciated.
     
    #1
  2. 94GTStang

    94GTStang Founding Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2001
    Messages:
    1,645
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Oklahoma City
    Autolite plugs and MSD wires.
     
    #2
  3. kidanonymous

    kidanonymous New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2001
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    alpharetta, ga
    Spend the extra and get a good set of wires like Magnecor.

    www.magnecor.com
     
    #3
  4. mkonor

    mkonor Founding Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2001
    Messages:
    340
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    El Paso, Texas
    Don't waste your $$. I dyno'd my car with the stock ford wires and with a set of MSD wires. The MSD wires made a whole **0** change in HP/Torque with the custom setup of my high performance engine.

    After the first run, wearing some gloves, I swapped out the wires...too easy.

    Your stock DIS and wires will work just fine.

    I've used the Jacobs and MSD DIS setups and they didn't make any difference either.

    Save your $$ for some mods that make a difference.
     
    #4
  5. 98CobraClone

    98CobraClone New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2003
    Messages:
    615
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Ripley, Ohio
    What he said........gotta agree. After I changed mine, got bosch wires and Autolite plugs......they kept giving off excessive RFI noise kicking my P0340 (Camshaft Position Sensor) code. I changed the sensor......kept getting the code. Changed back to factory wires.......all good. If there's nothign wrong with your stock wires......don't change em......they're not like oil filters where you have to change em. I've had the same ones on my other car for 7 years now
     
    #5
  6. BABstangV6

    BABstangV6 Smater than the average bear!

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2003
    Messages:
    607
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Rock Hill, SC
    So what wires 99+ or pre 99 that are good or both?
     
    #6
  7. mkonor

    mkonor Founding Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2001
    Messages:
    340
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    El Paso, Texas
    They are all good wires at 8mm size.
     
    #7
  8. 30AnnivStang

    30AnnivStang Founding Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2001
    Messages:
    846
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Boiling Springs, SC
    so, no reason to change to a 8.5 or 9mm wire?
     
    #8
  9. mkonor

    mkonor Founding Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2001
    Messages:
    340
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    El Paso, Texas
    I wasted $$ early on trying high energy ignitions and wire combinations.

    Firstly, the spark from a stock DIS is more than adequate for my own custom applications. I'm backed up by the experience of several engine builders.

    Secondly, if your stock DIS is more than adequate, then it follows that your stock wires are good enough. Unless you want some pretty blue, red, or yellow wires, stick with the grey ford ones.

    Lastly, the last set of MSD wires I experimented with were very weak in the angled spark plug connector. I had to repair 5 of the 6 wires at one time or another. The MSD wires also interferred with my cam position sensor.

    When I went back to the stock wires, the problem went away.

    Save the 50-70 bucks for wires for something that'll do more.
     
    #9
  10. DanM

    DanM Founding Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2002
    Messages:
    332
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Magnecor wires are supposed to be much better than MSD or Jacobs in the EMI/RFI department. www.magnecor.com

    Although I tend to agree with what's been said above - no need to go beyond the Ford stockers. I'll probably replace mine with Magnecor or another brand later, but just because I have a red car and don't mind paying 20 bux extra for red wires when I'm doing it anyway. :)
     
    #10
  11. mkonor

    mkonor Founding Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2001
    Messages:
    340
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    El Paso, Texas
    Yes, when you're doing the dress-up of the engine compartment, having a nice set of matching wires stretching across the engine (expecially if you run them between the upper intake and pulleys) make a nice impression.
     
    #11
  12. 97v6Silver

    97v6Silver it came to $4.56 and i got $0.44 change from a 5,

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2003
    Messages:
    909
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    VA Beach
    the only reason to change wires on our cars would be if you put a high out put ignition on or you wanted to dress the engine compartment up...
     
    #12
  13. StrlngSlvrStang

    StrlngSlvrStang Founding Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2002
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    SOONER Nation
    I checked a price on some Magnecor wires for my 00 V6 and they were $100! OMG! For something that doesn't do much other than look pretty, that's a little expensive.
     
    #13
  14. StrlngSlvrStang

    StrlngSlvrStang Founding Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2002
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    SOONER Nation
    MSD shows the 00 V6 as a 8.5mm size as to where Magnecor shows it as 8mm. Is either a good fit? :shrug:

    Does it have to do with where the ignition coil is located? 8mm for front location and 8.5mm for left location?
     
    #14
  15. larrendeuce

    larrendeuce Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2003
    Messages:
    651
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    17
    Location:
    Southern NJ
    8mm or 8.5mm is the thickness of the wire. It doesn't really matter some just have thicker insulation.
     
    #15

Share This Page