stang noob seeking advice

AZnoob

Jan 15, 2004
I just got a 5 speed 2004 v6. Love it. I'm looking for a hobby and it seems like making something I already love even better would be a great one.

I know jack about cars. I can put in oil and change a tire/battery... that's about it.

I've read through the forums and looked at the advice given to others but my lack of knowledge just confuses me more when I try to figure out what some of the stuff is.

My questions are:
1. What are some things I can do to improve the speed/performance of my car? I am a total noob so any details help ("toys! Must have new toys!").
2. Are there any places in Arizona that are good at "tune" jobs on stangs (I'm assuming when I read about getting a "good tune" that it just means a "tune-up" specifically for high performance?)
3. I've been thinking about taking some automotive repair classes so I can someday work on/improve my car myself. Dumb idea?
4. If I lowered my car an inch in the front (or maybe front and back) would that negatively impact the speed/performance?

Thanks in advance for any help!!

• Sponsors (?)

Well I'm pretty much a n00b myself, but I'll see what I can do to help you.

I'm not sure if this is made for '04 Mustangs yet, but I've heard so many people say this is practically a requirement when you get a manual mustang. Steeda Tri-Ax Shifter

Also for #1, if you were to get a Cold Air Induction kit, that would improve your horsepower by about 10 HP or so. I know getting a new exhaust system helps HP as well, but I'm not experienced in that enough yet.

For #2. and #3., I couldn't tell you...

But as for #4, Lowering Springs would help your car's feel and performance.