Stock Engine Detonation, New to SVTs

5.Ohhno

Dec 30, 2003
I'm almost positive now that my high RPM troubles are detonation. I had a 95 5.0 with a Vortech S-trim 10 psi, so i know the sounds of detonation.

Here is my problem. On a WOT Run, my stock 98 Cobra recently started to hesitate and "buck" lose major power from 5kRPM and up. The engine would be smooth up to that point (5Kish), then I feel the car lose all acceleration instantly, the exhaust note changes dramaticaly, and the car continues to Rev, but with no power, and this happens intermitant. At first I couldnt hear anything and thought it was those extra air butterfly valves getting stuck or somthing, but ive noticed the tell tale paint can rattle of detonation. Im new to the DOHC engines and dont know anything about them (I'm an old school push-rod guy) Since i know nothing, i was going to take it to the dealer and let them figure it out, but any help would be great before i go through that hassel.

I have replaced the fuel filter and ran an injector cleaner. No luck. Thanks. Also the car has an intermitant miss at idle, and seems to be a few mpg less. I've been through a few tanks of gas too all 91, no luck.

Thanks!

• Sponsors (?)

i know nothing about the 98's but on late model cars the computer will cut power at a prescribed rpm if an engine sensor senses overheating or other potentially damaging probs. on the 03 cobra i believe its at 3k in any gear. if you can't run the codes yourself then you would have to take it in, not sure why your check engine would not come on though if that were it?

it looks like your already running premium so the detonation wouldn't have anything to do with cheap gas. if you don't have the tools i would definitely take it in and at least check the a/f and compression.. but understandibly the dealer rips you off for this and i could understand being hesitant to do it.

i'm sure some of the other guys here can help you more..