swapping 07 v6 to a v8

Discussion in '2005 - 2014 Specific V6 Tech' started by baloodabear, Sep 21, 2009.


  1. Ken04

    Ken04 New Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    246
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

    everyone would agree with that, it's not worth it. But that wasn't the OP's question. He asked how difficult it was.
    #21
  2. BlownFiveLiter

    BlownFiveLiter have car, will race....wait, it doesn't run

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 1999
    Messages:
    5,504
    Likes Received:
    25
    Trophy Points:
    88
    The funny thing is, according to the moderator control panel his last activity was 9/21/09 at 16:18, or exactly when this thread was posted. He asked it, then never returned to see the answers.
    #22
  3. Justin01

    Justin01 Founding Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2002
    Messages:
    548
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yeah I figured, just further warrants my side of buy a GT.

    Funny too how wht v6 vert hasn't been on for a full year.....and then..... :ninja:
    #23
  4. n8sfxdx05

    n8sfxdx05 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2007
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ok ok ok

    So I read all of the posts and yes I will agree that the swap would be very involved. But I kinda like the idea of being different. My questions is why settle for a 4.6 3V why not go big or go home, drop in a 5.4L or a 5.4L 4V from a GT 500. Now you are talking a bad ass sleeper. I looked into the 4.6 swap and ya you can find wrecked GT's all day long, but with a supercharger your V6 can make GT power. So why do the 4.6 3V it has high compression and it isn't really going to get you much over 500hp with out blowing up. I say put a supercharger on your V6 or Drop in the big boy, and don't waist your time and money on the GT motor. I have another question for you guys, I bought a Predator for my 08 4.0 the other day, on the box it said that it would work on the V6, GT, and GT500. So my question is if the same programer works on all 3 out of the box just how different are the ECU's on the Mustangs?
    #24
  5. The Fang

    The Fang Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2005
    Messages:
    617
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Programmers are not really out of the box since they have to be programmed before use. :)
    #25
  6. n8sfxdx05

    n8sfxdx05 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2007
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yes Fang that is true, but when they ship it to you it comes in a box. When you take it out of said box, it will hook up and program any of the three different mustangs.
    #26

Share This Page