Wide Band Mounting

Discussion in 'Fox 5.0 Mustang Tech' started by TOOLOW91, Jan 1, 2014.


  1. TOOLOW91

    TOOLOW91 Mustang Master

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 1999
    Messages:
    2,619
    Likes Received:
    752
    Trophy Points:
    144
    Location:
    S.I.NY
    I am a bit of an inconspicuous person . I want to keep the interior as factory as possible but still have this thing where I can see it any ideas guys ? it's 2 1/16 innovative mtx-l
    #1
  2. TOOLOW91

    TOOLOW91 Mustang Master

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 1999
    Messages:
    2,619
    Likes Received:
    752
    Trophy Points:
    144
    Location:
    S.I.NY
  3. TOOLOW91

    TOOLOW91 Mustang Master

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 1999
    Messages:
    2,619
    Likes Received:
    752
    Trophy Points:
    144
    Location:
    S.I.NY
    also where would the best place be to weld the bung for the 02 sensor ?
    #3
  4. Grabbin' Asphalt

    Grabbin' Asphalt Mustang Master

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2013
    Messages:
    1,940
    Showcase:
    25
    Albums:
    1
    Likes Received:
    277
    Trophy Points:
    94
    Location:
    Atlanta, Ga
    Wanna say the bung should be after the stock O2 bung and off set in the stream -(not inline) maybe 4-6 inches, think that what i've read before.
    #4
  5. f8tlfiveo

    f8tlfiveo My wife likes my spool and blow-off valve.

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2007
    Messages:
    1,421
    Likes Received:
    74
    Trophy Points:
    49
    Location:
    Lancaster, PA
    I put mine 2-3 inches downstream and offset a little from my stock 02.. Just make sure you mark the pipe while it is on the car so you know it isn't going to hit anything . I didn't, but I got lucky. You want to keep it as close to the front of the car as possible.
    #5
  6. Noobz347

    Noobz347 Stangnet Facilities Maint Tech... Er... Janitor Admin Dude

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 1985
    Messages:
    19,900
    Showcase:
    58
    Albums:
    5
    Likes Received:
    2,480
    Trophy Points:
    174
    Location:
    Box behind Walmart
    ...and NOT mounted in the 6-O'Clock position.
    #6
    stangboy and TOOLOW91 like this.
  7. RacEoHolic330

    RacEoHolic330 I like to dress like a pretty girl SN Certified Technician

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2003
    Messages:
    3,459
    Likes Received:
    675
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    Allentown, PA
    ^ I can imagine the thread title now. "Help... wideband stopped working after going over speed bumps."
    #7
    stangboy likes this.
  8. Noobz347

    Noobz347 Stangnet Facilities Maint Tech... Er... Janitor Admin Dude

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 1985
    Messages:
    19,900
    Showcase:
    58
    Albums:
    5
    Likes Received:
    2,480
    Trophy Points:
    174
    Location:
    Box behind Walmart
    There you go bragging again. :D
    #8
  9. Grabbin' Asphalt

    Grabbin' Asphalt Mustang Master

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2013
    Messages:
    1,940
    Showcase:
    25
    Albums:
    1
    Likes Received:
    277
    Trophy Points:
    94
    Location:
    Atlanta, Ga
    Aka: ...put in da six and you'll take it in da six :rlaugh:
    #9
  10. TOOLOW91

    TOOLOW91 Mustang Master

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 1999
    Messages:
    2,619
    Likes Received:
    752
    Trophy Points:
    144
    Location:
    S.I.NY
    So no Ideas on gauge mounting
    ? I like races thread where he put his plx but then what about the hazards ? Not worried about the defroster because when the window was tinted the lines had to be scraped
    #10
  11. MY 85 GT

    MY 85 GT Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2008
    Messages:
    1,461
    Likes Received:
    109
    Trophy Points:
    64
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Jeff i would put it somewhere you can see it thats for sure i use that gauge more then any of my others to make sure its not leaning out...Im guessing you dont want to use a pillar pod?...thats what i have boost and AF gauge...put it in the vent above the radio and heater controls? Our cars dont really have that many good hiding places...lol
    #11
  12. A5literMan

    A5literMan Mustang Master

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2011
    Messages:
    1,225
    Likes Received:
    317
    Trophy Points:
    94
    Location:
    Illinois
    I have it in a pillar pod myself. I def wanted it in line of sight and wasn't concerned about anything else.
    #12
  13. Grabbin' Asphalt

    Grabbin' Asphalt Mustang Master

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2013
    Messages:
    1,940
    Showcase:
    25
    Albums:
    1
    Likes Received:
    277
    Trophy Points:
    94
    Location:
    Atlanta, Ga
    You could use the ash tray plate then fold the door to close it and it would look stock, but obviously it wouldn't be in line of sight.
    #13
  14. Grabbin' Asphalt

    Grabbin' Asphalt Mustang Master

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2013
    Messages:
    1,940
    Showcase:
    25
    Albums:
    1
    Likes Received:
    277
    Trophy Points:
    94
    Location:
    Atlanta, Ga
    Someone here put it at the defrost button. Search "Post your trick pic" stangnet thread.
    #14
  15. RacEoHolic330

    RacEoHolic330 I like to dress like a pretty girl SN Certified Technician

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2003
    Messages:
    3,459
    Likes Received:
    675
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    Allentown, PA
    @madspeed has his where the hazard switch is.

    Here's an old picture of my car. I had my oil pressure gauge in the left air vent. You can see it there. That would be a pretty good spot for a 2-1/16" AFR gauge.
    [​IMG]
    #15
  16. madspeed

    madspeed Colonel Mustard Mod Dude Founding Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 1999
    Messages:
    8,296
    Showcase:
    9
    Albums:
    1
    Likes Received:
    1,185
    Trophy Points:
    174
    Location:
    a van down by the river
    Here's mine


    [​IMG]

    I used a 1/8" thick piece of textured abs stock off ebay and trimmed it to fit the opening. It matches almost perfectly, the camera flash creates that shine effect. Its very snug, but can be removed if needed. For the hazard switch, I zip tied it up underneath the dash. It can be reached easily if needed. It must remain plugged in for the rest of the lughts to function properly.
    #16
    A5literMan likes this.
  17. Noobz347

    Noobz347 Stangnet Facilities Maint Tech... Er... Janitor Admin Dude

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 1985
    Messages:
    19,900
    Showcase:
    58
    Albums:
    5
    Likes Received:
    2,480
    Trophy Points:
    174
    Location:
    Box behind Walmart

    I have seen pods like this one:

    ighgmb[1].jpg

    for 87-93 that DO NOT have the big opening for a tach. Just 3 or 4 of the smaller openings for actual gauges. If you can find one of those, you're in!
    #17
  18. MY 85 GT

    MY 85 GT Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2008
    Messages:
    1,461
    Likes Received:
    109
    Trophy Points:
    64
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Nice Madspeed...for me im a vert so I have 2 switches there....I just did the old boring pillar pod set-up...LOL...
    #18
  19. Grabbin' Asphalt

    Grabbin' Asphalt Mustang Master

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2013
    Messages:
    1,940
    Showcase:
    25
    Albums:
    1
    Likes Received:
    277
    Trophy Points:
    94
    Location:
    Atlanta, Ga
    Yeah @madspeed trick pic is pretty slick :cool:
    The left air vent would cut into my DD a/c and heat but what about using the top left speaker, that could be snazzy :shrug:
    Last edited: Jan 6, 2014
    #19
  20. TOOLOW91

    TOOLOW91 Mustang Master

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 1999
    Messages:
    2,619
    Likes Received:
    752
    Trophy Points:
    144
    Location:
    S.I.NY
    Thanks for the suggestions boys I want it in sight as some of you pointed out , I may use the driver vent for boost and the hazard area for the AFR
    #20
    A5literMan likes this.

Share This Page