Window Questions: Stoppers And Glass Play

blakteky

Jan 18, 2014
Good morning guys!

I'm new to StangNet and I just bought a '87 Hatch GT but I'm not new to cars.

I have my doors apart because the power windows weren't tracking correctly and were rather loose. Once apart, I found that the drivers side has had a number of parts replaced by a previous owner. The regulator rivets has been drilled and replaced with bolts and the glass is from a different car.
Here are some questions I can't seem to find answers to on the internet:
  1. On the passenger side, there are two half-dollar sized circles attached to the glass that hit the stoppers (L-brackets w/ 2 bolts) attached on the inside, top of the door. The drivers side has bigger (2"x2") plastic squares instead of the rubber circles. Did the original owner get the wrong but similar window from a donor car? (i.e. '88 Hatch or '87 Coupe) Can I use the goofy driver side door? What is the name for these parts? There are pics of the two DIFFERENT stoppers below.
  2. Once the passenger side was apart, I found that the guide bar bolts were less than finger tight which helped with most of the windows play, and the window goes up and down pretty well until I put it all the way down. Then it gets stuck and there is no motor noise and requires some significant tugging to get it out of it's rut. Is this also a simple adjustment issue? I don't believe it's the regulator since it's operating normally in all other positions.
  3. For both windows there is still 'rotational' play where the back end of the glass sags for a second, maybe about 1/4" when going up and straightens itself out once at the top. Is this normal? Can this be fixed? Is it just a matter of making small adjustments? It's not a huge problem but I'd imagine it's adding additional wear to the plastic bushings and looks pretty ghetto.