Wiper switch

Discussion in 'Classic Mustang Specific Tech' started by suki243, Jan 9, 2008.


  1. suki243

    suki243 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2006
    Messages:
    698
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Hey guys, I can't tell if my wiper switch has gone bad or if the wiper motor... I've heard the wiper motor is a pain to replace.
  2. CanyonCarver515

    CanyonCarver515 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    17
    I have the same question as you. My wiper isn't working either and I don't feel like crawling under the dash just yet. Good think I live in So-Cal. It rarely rains anyway. :D
  3. suki243

    suki243 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2006
    Messages:
    698
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    19
    yah, I was thinking that too, it doesn't rain here that often, but the other day when it was i saw this one guy who also had an older car that didn't have wipers, poor guy had to roll down the window and wipe the shield with his hand.

    I have most of the dash taken out and the wiper switch out, so its not a big deal to replace the switch.
  4. CanyonCarver515

    CanyonCarver515 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    17
    One word for you: Rain-X it's been working for my lazy ass for years! :)
  5. iskwezm

    iskwezm Advanced Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2005
    Messages:
    4,159
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    69
    turn the switch on and check for voltage at the wiper motor
  6. NewStangOwnr

    NewStangOwnr New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Messages:
    155
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Don't want to bring up an old thread but....
    I got a new switch and harness. 2 speed. The wiper switch is getting power but nothing happens. It just clicks. I don't want to have to buy a new motor if it is something that I am missing.
  7. carefact0rzero

    carefact0rzero Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2008
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    7
    make sure your wiper motor is grounded. the connector for that is hidden a bit.
  8. NewStangOwnr

    NewStangOwnr New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Messages:
    155
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yeah the motor is grounded, does the switch need to be grounded too?
  9. suki243

    suki243 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2006
    Messages:
    698
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    19
    I believe it does. I remember the problem wiht mine was that it wasn't grounded. it was a big :doh:
  10. Bullitt

    Bullitt Packin' Heat Founding Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2000
    Messages:
    2,743
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    47
    Not sure what the issue is, but if 65/66 are anything like a 67 wiper motor mount, it really isn't all that bad.

    Once you've got the cluster out it's maybe a 15 minute job.

Share This Page