x3 tuner

Discussion in '2005 - 2009 Specific Tech' started by boomerboomer, Jun 25, 2008.


  1. boomerboomer

    boomerboomer New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2006
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i have a 2006 gt auto with magnaflow exhaust (too quiet) and kn intake today i got the x2 hand held tuner---- i have it on the 87 octane program and wow what a difference on throttle response and shifts i cant imagine it with 93 octane one question though the sales guy kind of scared the hell out of me he said if the ford service guys reprogram my computer (without me knowing) and i go to put a tune in my car will die !!!!!!!!!! the sales guy just said to be sure and tell the service guy about the tune and not to add any new tune when he works on it. :shrug: has this guy ever been to a dealer for service - just cause you tell the first guy something does not mean everyone gets the message any suggestions. thanx stangnet rules-- best mustang site on the net !
  2. NastyStang113

    NastyStang113 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,591
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Where'd you buy the tuner? If you have to drop the car off for service have the service writter make a note of it. A buddy did so and they still reflashed the computer. The dealer ended up buying him new tunes for the new code. They also sell a cover for the ODBII port that says "Do not reflash - Consult Owner" :nice:
  3. boomerboomer

    boomerboomer New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2006
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    thumper who sells a cover for it ?? your car looks great -black wheels on a black car awesome
  4. NastyStang113

    NastyStang113 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,591
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Brenspeed can probably get it for you.
  5. AlloyGT

    AlloyGT Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Just use the tuner to read your strategy code. Write this down somewhere. Before reloading a tune, check your strategy code. If it's not the same code you wrote down, you've been reflashed.

    At that point DO NOT reload the tune, until you get new tunes to match the new strategy code.

    I recheck my strategy code every time anyone with a name sewn on their shirt touches my car.
  6. Stangninjak

    Stangninjak Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2004
    Messages:
    322
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    17
    Can you load your stock tune back on the car for services ? I have not had service yet, but I was wondering about it..

    Though the cover on the port sounds like a good ideal.
  7. stampr27

    stampr27 New Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2008
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    ALLOYGT is that picture at redrocks????
  8. boomerboomer

    boomerboomer New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2006
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    ALLOY GT i appologize if this sounds like a stupid question but.... how do i get the strategy code would you mind giving me a brief descrip on how to thanx boomer

Share This Page