2001 Temp hot

DKhorse

Founding Member
Sep 5, 2002
Philadelphia
I live in Florida so that should tell you something. I have a 2001 GT with a fluidyne Radiator and I also have underdive pulleys. I have a 180 degree thermo. I just had the radiator flushed and filled with Amsoil Radiator fluid.

I still have a overheating problem. It reads about a 1/4 past normal. If I have the air on when on the highway or the city it will creep up. But as soon as I turn the air off the reading goes back to normal. The shop recommended that I go back to a factory thermostat. Do you think the thermo is my problem?

• Sponsors (?)

Why the switch to the Fluidyne radiator? Were you having the overheating problem before and this was an attempt to fix it? Is the rest of the cooling system stock? Are the underdrive pulleys your only other mods?

I probably would start with the thermostat, it is cheap and personally I would go back to the stock heat range. On a stock motor you really aren't going to see much of a benefit going with a 180. People tend to forget that these motors are designed to operate in a very specific heat range. When you change that heat range you change the tolerances of the motor. Going with a colder thermostat and operating the motor at a colder temperature will increase wear. I am sure there are some minimal gains in power to be had but, at what cost? The real benefit of a colder thermostat is on a motor with high compression or a power adder where the colder temps help prevent detonation. In these situations the added wear is not an issue when compared to the possibility of detonation.

Is the system completely filled, or do you have a lot of air in it? I'm not sure about this Amsoil Radiator fluid, but with regular 50/50 anit-freeze/water mine sits at about "o" in "normal" on these hot days.