67 Transmission Troubles

robbz28

Sep 23, 2009
Epps, LA
Alright, I need a little help, I have googled this problem a bit and just need some fresh input. My transmission worked great before I pulled it out and rebuilt the engine. It sat on the floor of my shop for probably 3 months without any fluid in it. I put the engine and transmission back in and put a new filter and fluid in the tranny. Now it won't shift out of first. I checked my vacuum line and its in good shape, and my fluid levels are proper. Could it be the vacuum modulator itself? Any ideas, im not very good with transmissions. Thanks.

• Sponsors (?)

I did have trouble at first, but i never got it bolted together completely when it was difficult, i repositioned the torque converter and it bolted together like a dream (I put it together outside of the car and slid the engine and tranny in the car as one unit). And yes, its a C4.

I'm not too much on automatics, just wondered if maybe you busted the front pump gear bolting the engine and transmission together by forcing em. The only thing comes to mind otherwise is the vacuum modulator isn't working or it's low on fluid.

I don't think I busted anything....like I said, i never got it "tight" when it wasnt on there right as soon as it started getting difficult to tighten I backed off and re-mated the torque converter, then it bolted together properly. And I did not check to see if it would shift manually (duh), but I am going to check that today, I am also going to blow some air through my vaccum modulator line and make sure it is clear. Most posts I have read that are having issues like mine are modulator related, but I will check again, also some mention shift linkage, though I think I have mine right, I will triple check that. i will try to get to that this afternoon if my wife don't keep me doing the "mothers day" thing all afternoon...