Fox 93 Gt Convertible Nose Repair Vs Replace

theYman

Jun 5, 2013
My 93 GT convertible has a beat up nose. Is it easier to replace it with new rubber or should I spend the 8+ hrs to fix it?
100_2306.JPG

• Sponsors (?)

The nose is worse than the pics look. It has several gouges and the lower is swelled below the fog lights. I riveted a piece of sheet metal under neath each light to help.

If it is really trashed you should probably replace it. I don't think Cervini's offers a factory GT nose (although i could be wrong I suppose) but they do offer the stalker nose. I don't personally care for it, but Madspeed is right that they have top notch parts if you decide to go that route.

I know latemodel offers a reproduction GT nose, but I have no experience with the quality of it. You could probably find a used one in decent shape with a little bit of leg work.

What are your plans? If you are just doing a repaint of the nose then it might be worth it to try and save it. If you are doing the whole car, though, I wouldn't want to take the chance.

To change it is not hard. From memory here...

1. Unbolt the two radiator to bumper brackets (obvious when you open the hood)
2. Remove the headlights (including marker and turn signal housings)
3. Remove the Fender extensions (the forward ones at the bottom of the front fenders)
4. I can't recall right now, but there may be some plastic push pins that hold the cover to the radiator support. Those should be removed if they are present. I think they were on my LX cover, but I don't remember if they were there (or should have been there) on my GT.
5. Unbolt the front bumper cover to fender bolts. I think there are like 5 per side, and they are best accessed from underneath the car.