96 GT...Auto to Manual Swap

Lysol13

Dec 8, 2005
Hey guys!

I've been driving my AUTO 96 GT for 2 years now. I am real sick of not being able to shift! I have heard alot of people say it is not worth it...I dont see why not if manual is so much more pleasureable. Exactly what would I need for this manual swap? Just a t-5 tranny and some new pedals? If someone could just list all of the parts I need that would be great.

Thanks alot!

• Sponsors (?)

Lysol13 said:
Hey guys!

I've been driving my AUTO 96 GT for 2 years now. I am real sick of not being able to shift! I have heard alot of people say it is not worth it...I dont see why not if manual is so much more pleasureable. Exactly what would I need for this manual swap? Just a t-5 tranny and some new pedals? If someone could just list all of the parts I need that would be great.

Thanks alot!

I don't know exactly the parts list but the 96-01? GT's came with a T-45 tranny not a T-5. I don't know if the T-5 would mate perfectly.

Of course you will need a new bellhousing and bolts
with your T-45 transmission.I am not sure the other parts
you will need.You should have no issues doing the T-45
conversion you will just need all the parts.I belive you will
need new transmission mounts too.

Lysol13 said:
Hey guys!

Thanks alot!

It's way too much BS and hassle IMO. If you REALLY want a 5spd, sell your car. Period.

I kind of agree with the98Stang. If you used mostly new parts it would probably cost you $2k. 96 mustangs are so cheap these days it's not worth it. It's a real PITA. Among other things you have to drop the steering column to swap the pedals. I will never do that again. However, if you are are dead set on doing it you will need:

T45
Pedal assembly
trans crossmember
clutch quadrant and cable
clutch
flywheel
index plate
wiring harness for reverse lights
some junk for the speedo cable

clutch kit
flywheel
block plate
bellhousing
shifter boot/bezel
shifter
transmission (+ fluid)
transmission harness