Before I call the Dealer....

So last week I installed Magnapaks and K&N CAI and kept the stock tune on my '09 GT. I drove it all week back and forth to work and got on it once or twice and everything seemed fine. Today I got on it in second gear and not sure of the rpm, but at about 4000, I think, it shut down and went into limp mode. I pulled to the side of the road and shut the engine and waited a few minutes. Started it up and everything seemed fine. I got on it again on the way home and it didn't seem to be any problem, although I don't think I got it up to the same rpm as I did the other time. What caused that? Is there something wrong? Do I need to do a tune? Should I take it to the dealer and will they just tell me that it's because I installed aftermarket stuff and charge me for repairs?

• Sponsors (?)

Mufflers without a tune isn't a problem BUT a CAI without a tune is an issue!
Ok...so how do I go about getting a tune now? I'm sorry, but I'm new to all this CAI and tune stuff. When I read about the CAI on K&N's website, I thought I understood that the unit I bought did not require a tune. In the instructions it just says to disconnect the battery before installing so the computer will adjust when you go to restart.
Thanks for any help you can provide.

The K&N filter like other that "say" they require not tune should have a little piece that goes inside the filter to make the system work. Did you put that piece in? You will need to purchase a hand held tuner such as an SCT Xcal3, when purchasing the device you will be asked for PCM number and list of mods.

The K&N filter like other that "say" they require not tune should have a little piece that goes inside the filter to make the system work. Did you put that piece in? You will need to purchase a hand held tuner such as an SCT Xcal3, when purchasing the device you will be asked for PCM number and list of mods.