Ford Toploader Shifting Fork

xsi3rr4x

Mar 25, 2011
Hello everyone, I have A Ford Toploader 4 speed out of a 1971 Mustang that my dad had given me. I plan on using it in my 1969 mustang,

the only problem is that he says the shifting fork is bent from when he was driving down his driveway one day and a huge rock came up and knocked the side of the transmission causing him not being able to go into first all the way (basically couldnt get into first) but he can get every other gear, he was told this could be due to a bent shifting fork.

How would I go about getting the 1st/2nd shifting fork out and checking if it is bent? me and my dad arnt really transmission people so we dont really know how to go about tearing down a transmission, but I imagine the shifting fork wouldnt be that bad to get to.

He said the rock also could have just hit his shifter or the linkages and messed them up.

Any advice would help very much, Thanks

• Sponsors (?)

I'm not a transmission expert, either - but before you tear everthing down, I would check the linkage adjustment. It's pretty easy to do, and controls everything between the shifter and transmission. Linkage can come out of adjustment, with normal, let alone spirited driving. It's not uncommon either to find the linkage bent - which seems to me something a 'big rock' might actually do. Check that first, and see if you can grab your gear. You can find out the adjustment procedure pretty easy with a search...

It is possible that there is internal damage, but you would have to remove the top cover in order to have a hope of seeing it. That is easy to do. There is no easy way to remove a shift fork (or most any other internal part that could be bent or broken) without some major transmission disassembly. Decent mechanical skills are required.