got my first mustang

black9D5

May 26, 2011
Hi everyone im new to the whole forum thing so sorry if this is in the wrong place. But i sold my truck and bought my first mustang:D its a 95 black gt with black interior with a 5 speed. got 82,000 miles and picked it up for 4 grand:D im 17 and love working on cars but im no expert mechanic im just learning things. thats why i came to you guys. i have this weird pinging noise coming from the motor when you get on it, sounds like spark knock maybe, but it does it really bad in first gear and gets quieter the farther through the gears i go. i was wondering if anyone might know what it is? question #2: im looking to do my first mods. any suggestions? i drive it to school and work everyday but i just want it to be a weekend warrior type car. maybe take it to the track on the weekends. i dont drag on the street cause i dont even wanna take the chance of wrecking my car or getting a ticket and drag racing the legal way is just as fun:D

• Sponsors (?)

Very nice choice in Mustangs, and a very fair price. You have come to the right place. The people on Stangnet are very friendly and helpful.

For the pinging, I would pull a spark plug and check the coloring. If you are getting a little pinging in an otherwise stock car, it probably just needs a tune up, so start there. You might want to do a spark plug change, and go ahead and change the big filters, like the air filter and fuel filter. If that doesn't do it, I would check to see if a previous owner has over advanced the timing in an attempt to get more power out of it.

My first mod for a 5 speed car is always a shifter. A nice shifter makes a huge difference in your driving experience. Most people recommend the MGW shifter, but I personally have never used one.

Kurt

timing was at 21 degrees i turned it down to 14. already put in a K&N filter, and fresh oil change. spark plugs look like cheap $1.50 spark plugs. maybe replace with those E3 spark plugs?