Help me replace my 1/4 panel

nmcgrawj

Advanced Member
Sep 28, 2003
Indianapolis, IN
Hey guys, i need to replace my drivers side 1/4 panel. Before we even get started i cant afford to just have a shop do it right now. Plus i like learning how to do things myself. SO!......

juiced_94gt already described where the factory 1/4 panel is spot welded on. My question is after u drill out those spots, does the panel just get pulled off? Is there some sort of sealant between each spot weld?

If it doesnt come off, then how do u seperate and/or cut ? Which type of saw gives the best cut? I found a 1/4 panel for $150, which ended up being 1/4 of a mustang coup cut off :lol: (this is my first time dealing with a 1/4 panel at a junk yard) so i guess whatever i do to my car i'll have to do to the junkyard one right?

I think thats it for now, thanks for any help :SNSign:

• Sponsors (?)

The quarter panel is made up of three parts. In all honesty, if this is your first time doing this type of body work, I'd stay away from it. You will need a welder as well. The rear quarter panel also serves as a means of support and tie in. If it were me, I would save up and have someone who knows what they are doing change it. It is alot of work and there are alot of things that could go wrong.