How To Set The Timing

well y'all I put a e303 cam in my car 88 maf and I'm not good at setting the time it seems like it runs fine but I'm not sure how it is supposed to sound or feel. I Hav a cheap time light from harber freight and it seems like the mark on the fly wheel is not steady and even then I'm not really sure what degree to set the advance or how to.so I'm thinking about bringing it to a shop

• Sponsors (?)

Welcome. Curious, why an E cam and what is the rest of the setup on your motor- heads, intake, Throttle body, MAF, etc.

• bring the car up to operating temp
  • turn the car off
  • loosen the bolt that hold down the distributor hold down just enough so you can move the distributor- 1/2 inch
  • remove the spout connector ( square plug) that is in the wiring harness next to the distributor. That locks out your timing advance, Put that IN YOUR POCKET. Do NOT lay it down somewhere as they get lost.
  • On the harmonic balancer, you will see timing marks. Looking DOWN on it from the TOP on the front left of the motor, you will see there is a timing pointer on the front of the timing cover. and on the balancer you will notice a 0 and to the left and right are marks. Each mark is 2 degrees.. The marks to the LEFT are AFTER top dead center and to the RIGHT of the 0 are Before top dead center.
  • Using a white touch up pen or grease pen, make a mark on the upper straight edge of the TIMING POINTER.