new cobra owner, have some ?'s

Dr. Wu 2000

Feb 16, 2004
Eastern, Pa.
Hi everyone. I am new to the svt forum, cause I just traded in my 2000 GT
for a 04' Redfire cobra. All I can say is WOW !!!!! Just started driving stick
yesterday when I drove it off the lot. It wasn't pretty. Guess it will just take
some practice. The start from a stop is my problem, once I am moving I am
fine. Now for the real question. What should my first mods be? I am thinking
CAI and full exhaust. How does that sound? Any feedback would be greatly
appreciated. Thanx. :p

• Sponsors (?)

cat back exhaust at least...give it that real muscle car sound to back up the power...i drive mine to get the mail at the mail box just to here it....and no i dont have a long road to my mailbox...its at the end of the driveway......hehehe

First off, excellent choice for color. As far as mods go, like trents99 said above, shifter, cai, and cat-back are good choices. Hopefully with these mods, you might be able to keep your warranty if that concerns you. Headers were mentioned above but from what I've read they don't offer enough performance gains for the hassle. A pulley swap and tune will give you enough power to satisfy your needs, at least for a while.

There are plenty of mods available for your new '04 Snake... Question is whether you value your warranty or not and what type of relationship you THINK you have with the service department. Before you start modding why don't you go talk to the service manager and see how he feels about modifications. Ask them whether a cat back or CAI will void your warranty. Most service departments will overlook these minor mods, some service departments are ANAL RETENTIVE though! Find out where your service department stands BEFORE you have to take the car in for warranty work.