Please Help! P0171 & P0174

CarNutGT

Feb 23, 2004
NAPERVILLE, IL
:bang: Please Help! I have been chasing this problem for 15 months now.

I bought my 1997 Mustang GT, 5 spd in May 2003. About a month later (no mods yet), the Check Engine Light (CEL) came on. I went to Autozone and had the codes read. It cam up with P0171 and P0174.

These codes mean: P0171 (O2 Bank 1, Sensor 1 Lean) and P0174 (O2 Bank 2, Sensor 1 Lean). I have done alot of research on these codes, and have found that what this means is: The O2 sensors are reading a lean condition and are adjusting the fuel mixture richer and richer until it exceeds a predetermined value, then sets the CEL.

The car had 65,000 on it and I figured that replacing the O2 sensors was not a bad idea. So I did that and reset the light, drove for a few days and the light comes back on. While working on the O2's I noticed that the Passenger side exhaust flange to pipe gasket was leaking and I decided to replace that as well, reset codes, light back on. I took off the IAC valve and looked into port, the intake was clean! There was a light coating of soot, but no carbon chunks like I expected. Cleaned IAC and re-installed. Took off the EGR valve, also clean and functioning properly, installed a TOMCO carbon screen kit, and reinstalled, as you can imagine, the CEL came on again. I also looked (listened) for vacuum leaks, and used carb cleaner to help, to no avail. I also replaced the Mass Air Flow sensor, spark plugs, and cleaned my air filter with no result.