Replace EGR Carb Spacer with Non EGR Spacer

gregski

Mar 13, 2010
Sacramento, California
If I am not concerned with SMOG and emissions can I replace the mid '75's EGR carburetor spacer I have now with an early '71 style non EGR one, or better yet do I need a spacer at all?

My Motorcraft 2150 carb has a PCV port on the base of it, so I placed the carb on the intake manifold without any spacers and I did not have any clearance problems. I did google carb spacers and I guess they serve a purpose other than giving you an inch of height, but I figure I ask you anyways if I need one. I figure with it I can have leaks between the carb and the spacer as well as between the spacer and the intake manifold, so I am thinking why not just eliminate it all together.

Again I am new to this car stuff so please be gentle. Pictures below:

96149d1271207838-replace-egr-carb-spacer-non-egr-spacer-egr-spacer-1.jpg

96150d1271207838-replace-egr-carb-spacer-non-egr-spacer-non-egr-spacer-1.jpg

• Sponsors (?)

finding a 2bbl carb space might be harder to find but i would check jegs or summit for just a non-egr 2bbl carb spacer. You could just bolt the carb directly to your intake manifold but you might need shorter carb studs. Also if your carb doesnt have a spot for your vacume advance, make sure you get a space with one. and dont forget new gaskets