Temperature Gauge Fluctuates. Yours?

Audiophile

Sep 9, 2013
Southern CA
I've noticed over the last several weeks my temperature gauge will fluctuate somewhat. I'm very particular and certainly don't want to run my car hot so I don't like it, at all.

According to the gauge, I'm used to seeing it around 190 degrees, or somewhere close to that. On occasion, it will fluctuate up to 220-240. That seems excessive, but I'm no expert in this area, so I wanted to check in with you guys. What do your's normally run? Does it fluctuate at all?

Some further info, its been pretty hot here in So. CA. Today, high is supposed to be around 102 I think. If I run my A/C, that seems to make it go up some. I had a new radiator installed back in October.

As soon as I began to see this happening, I ordered a new thermostat and a temp. sending unit. I have not installed it yet.

Opinions and/or thoughts?

As always, thanks in advance!!

Last edited:
  • Sponsors (?)

Is it the stock gauge on the instrument cluster or an aftermarket gauge?

Edit: Didn't see you got a new sending unit. That might fix it. I'm unsure if the gauge uses vacuum lines so that could be another cause.

My oil pressure gauge was flopping around a lot and I replaced the sending unit. The flopping lessened but it's still there. I'm pretty sure I have a vacuum leak somewhere.

Mine is kind of steady. If I have the headlights on than it jumps up almost a half bar. I'm not actually sure if the car is running hotter or if there is interference in the dash wiring that causes it to go up when the lights are on. Jrichkter might know.

If I drive with no accessories on, than the gauge is steady at about the half way mark. Light on its up about half a bar from mid way.

Might be worth looking at the thermostat. I just had to do mine. I was running a full bar below halfway, all the time. If I accelerated it would drop lower as the water pump spun up.