08 or 09

Rangers68

Apr 21, 2007
Hey everyone, its been awhile. Anyway Im looking to buy a mustang this upcoming spring. Now I have a little problem. Should I go ahead and buy an 08 mustang GT, or wait and buy an 09? Is 50 extra horse power and a little body changes worth it? Keep in mind I have been driving a little rice rocket for a few years and I have never owned a V8. Thanks for everything.

• Sponsors (?)

Depends on what YOU want. It's easy enough to get 50hp out of these 3Vs with aftermarket modifications and the HP to $ cost will be a little better aftermarket, so that really leaves you with the body and interior style upgrades rumored for the 09. From what I have seen most the appearance changes will be in the front fascia and facade.

You will need to decide if you like the proposed 09 changes more than the 05-08 look.

You are assuming the 2009 will actually have 50 extra horsepower. Has this been confirmed? I haven't seen it pop up in the news here or in Planet Mustang as official. Whenever a change like that occurs, be prepared to pay at least sticker unless you can get X-Plan or A-plan pricing or anything like that. Also, my car was one of the first few 2008's out, and I got it in August - the 2009, assuming a redesign, likely wouldn't hit the floors until fall 2008 at the earliest.

If you're not sure, I'd wait until the '09s hit the dealer floors to compare the '08 side by side. If you like the '08 better, you should be able to get a killer deal as they will be handing them away to make room for the '09s. I waited 3 years after the '05 came out to finally get my S197. I believe you could wait a year(now more like 10-11 months)to see any differences between the two. A positive in that scenario is that you can save up some more money until then:nice:

Get an 08!