245/50/16 nittos

Hi im going to the track all weekend, my car is pretty stock and I picked up some used 245/50/16 nitto dr's theyre almost bald but supposevely they hook nice when worn down, I removed my backseat and tire jack etc saved about 91 lbs im keeping my sway bar in....anyways my question is how hard can I launch with these tires, slip the clutch at which rpm? or dump it at which rpm? I have a stock clutch I think aswell as stock clutch cable and quadrant. What should the tire pressure be also??

Thanks for any help im a newbie when it comes to drag radials. :canada:

• Sponsors (?)

well on an old car we ran 15psi on 15 inch rims, and could leave at 3500-3700 on a pretty much bone stock car, minus gears, mass air, tb. it seemed to work pretty well for what it was

16psi on a 7in. rim here for the strip.

It really does depend on the power lever and how your suspension and slipping take place.

Do a 5-7 second burnout. 1st gear burnout if you have stock gears...but if you have 3:55's or steeper do a second gear burnout.

I do 11-12psi. Use first gear for your burn outs because your sig does not list that you have gears. USE the water box. Its there to help strain on your drivetrain when you do the initial burn out clutch dump. You just have to practice. No one can tell you how to do it, you have to teach yourself. I'm on my 2nd set of nitto dr's and they've been great. I used to consistantly cut 1.8's all day with weak launches.