about to go turbo...what do i need?

cenok is family

15 Year Member
Jun 25, 2003
Norman, Ok
i was going to order a complete on3 kit, but after everyone saying that the turbo sucks, i think i am just going to order the treadstone hot and cold side piping kits, a treadstone intercooler, and i don't know what else, lol. that's where i need your guys' help! what else am i going to need that isn't included in these kits?

here is the cold side kit:
http://www.treadstoneperformance.co...dname=87-93+Mustang+single+turbo+kit+pipe+kit

here is the hot side:
http://www.treadstoneperformance.co...ngle+Turbo+Kit+87-93+Mustang+(Hot+parts+only)

here is the intercooler i'm going to get. it's the trv25-s; same side facing endtanks. it's the one in their complete kit:
http://www.treadstoneperformance.co...=63&prodname=TRV25+Series+Intercooler++1000HP

what is a decent enough turbo for around $500-700 price range? what about wastegates and BOVs?

i'm new to the boost game, so any help would be appreciated!

my goal is to try and keep money below $2500, and if possible, below $2000. i know this approach isn't going to be the best of the best, but i don't need the best. just something decent that isn't going to blow up after 100 miles.

thanks!

• Sponsors (?)

on3 will work, we ran it on a friends car you just need to use a good w/g bov and turbo, As far as turbo in that price range = Master power hands down, he ran a 76. Waste gate and BOV - tial

i've been debating that option as well. just getting the on3 kit and using a different turbo/wg/bov. the only thing that has been keeping me from doing that, is by the time i get different stuff, i'll probably be approaching the cost of a treadstone single turbo kit.

do you have a link to where i can look at master power turbos? they only place i've ever looked at them is on ebay. thanks man

Looks ok, id be wary of a turbo i couldnt check the shaft play in person of, but it doesn't seem like a bad deal.