Aux Button - What is this for?

Discussion in '2005 - 2009 Specific Tech' started by 05xgt, May 5, 2007.


  1. stanmckinney

    stanmckinney Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2005
    Messages:
    1,206
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    39
    05 did not have a jack. Triptunes is an fm modulator.
     
    #21
  2. STANGJ

    STANGJ New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2007
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Clinton SC
    my '06 has the aux button but my '05 did not, have not had the head unit out of mine yet. but fyi my wife's freestyle has the same radio as my '06.
     
    #22
  3. iskwezm

    iskwezm Advanced Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2005
    Messages:
    4,145
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    69
    Location:
    Rowland Heights,California
    the radio should be the same in the 05-07
    F-150
    Mustang
    Freestyle
    Five Hundred
    Explorer
    Fusion
    Mercury Montego
    Lincoln Mark Lt

    but to use the aux in/iPod interfaces the radio must either be satellite ready or say MP3 on the face.Also to use these, you will lose use of the factory satellite receiver.
     
    #23
  4. Hoboattacker

    Hoboattacker New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2005
    Messages:
    550
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Baton Rouge (LSU) / Houston, TX
    My 2005 Mustang GT has the Aux button. I do not have a Shaker 500 or Shaker 1000 stereo system.
     
    #24
  5. iskwezm

    iskwezm Advanced Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2005
    Messages:
    4,145
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    69
    Location:
    Rowland Heights,California
    WE JUST DISCONTINUED THESE PARTS DUE TO THE FORD CAN BUS SYSTEM NOT COMMUNICATING WITH OUT INTERFACE.SO PARTS FROM PERIPHERAL WILL ALSO BE DISCONTINUED.
     
    #25
  6. jaackal

    jaackal New Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2003
    Messages:
    402
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NJ
    i have an 07 GT/CS and the aux. button is used for the siruis satelite radio which was factory installed and also used for an input like using your ipod if you have one. the jack should be in the center console by the cigarette lighter
     
    #26
  7. bigcat

    bigcat start with the upper hole, and if more traction is

    Joined:
    May 2, 2005
    Messages:
    4,248
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    79
    Location:
    7200 feet
    2005 mustangs did not have the sat radio or the plug in the console. :(
     
    #27
  8. Hoboattacker

    Hoboattacker New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2005
    Messages:
    550
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Baton Rouge (LSU) / Houston, TX
    Maybe I have a different radio then because when I hit the aux button it tells me No Aux Input Detected or something of the sort :shrug:
     
    #28
  9. bigcat

    bigcat start with the upper hole, and if more traction is

    Joined:
    May 2, 2005
    Messages:
    4,248
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    79
    Location:
    7200 feet
    that is true. it does tell you this. but, we did not get a sattellite radio option or a console plug for portable accessories in 05. i was referring to jaackal's post about the 07. some have posted that there is a 12 pin plug in the rear of the unit that can be utilized.
     
    #29
  10. BlueStang'05

    BlueStang'05 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Aux Button

    maybe this question was already answered in this thread but my '05 shaker radio says MP3 on it, why do they put that if you do not have an mp3 jack ??
     
    #30
  11. Redfire 05

    Redfire 05 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2005
    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Lubbock, TX
    Because it will play Burned CD's with mp3 files on them.
     
    #31
  12. BlueStang'05

    BlueStang'05 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    ooooo ok that makes sense. thnx redfire. lol but you gotta admit thats misleading when you first buy it and look at your stereo
     
    #32
  13. Redfire 05

    Redfire 05 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2005
    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Lubbock, TX
    yeah, it is. MP3 and Aux button. You think it must be MP3 player compatible. Then you start looking for the plug in, but there is none. :shrug: It's irritating.
     
    #33
  14. cowtown

    cowtown Founding Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2001
    Messages:
    228
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Victoria, BC Canada
    PIE makes an auxilary interface that works pretty well though I've lost my speed sensitive volume and dimming on the head unit because of the way it's designed. They came out with an updated chipset for it but they refuse to answer my requests for one.

    So you can try there but just be aware that their service is crap.
     
    #34
  15. CRoberts91

    CRoberts91 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Northport, AL
    on my 07' its for the input jack in the center console.
     
    #35
  16. Redfire 05

    Redfire 05 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2005
    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Lubbock, TX
    Yeah, but 05 Mustangs don't have an input jack. That's the problem.
     
    #36
  17. sonnier

    sonnier Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Pearland, TX
    You can get the triptunes hookup thing cheap from Moss Mustang, only $59 but I bet you could find it cheaper even elsewhere. I've been contemplating it but money is tight right now so I'm holding off.
     
    #37
  18. BlueStang'05

    BlueStang'05 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    yea i no wat ya meen i musta looked for the damn input jack for 10 minutes and read the manual cover to cover twice lol i was soooooo mad when i you guys told me it didnt have one. An the worst part is that you can't evn buy an itrip or sumthing bcuz i have owned three and they were garbage. do tehy make sirius radios w/ auxillery inout jacks?
     
    #38
  19. BlueStang'05

    BlueStang'05 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    sry for the mis-pellings i was in a rush
     
    #39
  20. dhthomas40

    dhthomas40 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2006
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My 06 has a nonfunctional AUX button on the Shaker 1000. I had the local stereo experts install an adapter and run a 3.5mm jack to my console compartment. I can now use my mp3 player through the AUX option. Install with parts was $160.
    There is a power point for a charger in the console compartment. My question is this. Can I plug my mp3 player into the charger at the same time palying it through the Shaker 1000?
     
    #40

Share This Page