Body dipping

• Sponsors (?)

depending upon layers of paint gunk etc i was quoted at ~800-1200 for the shell, then ~100 per indiv part (door,trunklid, fender, hood, etc).

the place is Redistrip, I believe theyre a chain, I saw a reccomendation to them from the my classic car site, and found one local by me in chicagoland area.

I had mine soda blasted, it was reasonable did a super job and when its done theres no sand or other media left behind in every nook and cranny, the soda dissolves and rinses away.

I am by NO means a professional at this, but talk to people who are. They say to stay away from the dipping, as it can and will eat EVERYTHING away. Supposedly it can weaken or fatigue sheetmetal. Also hear it has a tendency to drip or Ooze out of crevices and foul up newly applied paint. I had my 67 media blasted and epoxy primed for just shy of $2,000. If only I didn't have to leave soon for Iraq...again...Again...not an expert, nor have I tried it, but MANY I've talked to have said the same thing about it....

Any sort of stripping will have it's downsides. Soda blasting is by far the best, well maybe dry ice, but anyway I couldn't find anybody that did soda blasting around me. I had some parts plastic bead blasted but wasn't real happy with the results. It left some rust behind. I had the body shell sand blasted and couldn't be happier. It was the best $400.00 i spent so far. The only thing I have to complain about is the sand gets in EVERYTHING and is a pain in the ass to clean up. Just when I though I had it all out of the car more comes oozing out of a crack.

68rustang said: