Detailing

1999redcobra

Jul 11, 2007
OK i want to detail my car is this a good list to follow? First wash,then clay bar it, then polish it with a dual action polisher, then wax it? What is the difference between sealants and polishes? Im pretty new at all of this so what does all of the Megs #4 and #16 mean and what one do you use. Just need over all general help.:shrug:

• Sponsors (?)

difference between sealants and polishes is polishes help polish the paint. The same way you polish aluminum rims (or jewelery) to bring out the shine. They also aid with minor swirl mark/marring removal with the proper pad and machine aka a Porter Cable 7424 polisher.

Sealants well here's a copy and paste
A paint sealant is made of polymers, which are composed of tens of thousands of synthetic particles that are linked together. When a sealant bonds to your vehicle’s paint, it forms a rigid shell. It is not the warm carnauba that seems to melt into the paint. Paint sealants sit on top of the paint like a transparent chain metal suit. They are glossy and slick, but carnauba lovers will tell you they do not have the warmth and depth of a carnauba.

As far as what is Meg#4 or #16 that's a numbering system Meg uses with the Mirror Glaze line (professional line). The Mirror Glaze line is a lot better then what they sell or distribute in most auto part stores and Walmart (NXT line). Napa carries the Mirror glaze line or they can order it if they don't have it. Here an example:Megs #7 would refer to Megs #7 SHow car Glaze and would like like so
product_m07.jpg

So is that mirror glaze #7and that mirror glaze #16 the same thing. Are those both wax or is one a sealant. Also if you were doing a full out detail would you wash it, clay it, polish it, then seal it, then wax it or is the sealent the wax. Everything you have told me so far has helped alot just want to get all my facts straight so i dont look like and idiot.