House Update

25thmustang

Mustang Master
Sep 5, 2003
Montgomery, NY
So after getting the bathroom done, we didn't have much time left till we had our housewarming party (tomorrow). The dining room was next on our list and it needed the wainscoting done. This is my first attempt at ever doing it, and I am happy with the result. I wish I had more time to figure out some of the edges (at the living room and kitchen openings) but I can always tackle that later.

The photos show it almost complete. Needs one more coat of paint, the red cut in, plate covers and a good cleaning of the room.

Let me know what you think.

Also this is not just a picture frame on a wall, but in the end kind of looks similar.

Begining: Putting the stiles and rails up...
View attachment 237477

Middle: Picture framing and top cap in place...
View attachment 237478

End: Not 100% but here is the whole set up with base moulding...
View attachment 237479
View attachment 237480
View attachment 237481
View attachment 237482

I also trimmed the door and window with a nicer fluted trim and rosettes at the top. This room has the 4 1/4" crown as well, just a little nicer than the rest of the house.

• Sponsors (?)

Brian it looks awesome! I want to do this exact same thing in our dining room! I have such issues cutting the corners though. I need to find a caulk to fill in the edges that i can smooth out and paint over.

Thanks...

Justin the edges are where coping comes in. You can do it or not, but it helps with walls that aren't 90 degrees. Basically you cut one piece to run dead straight into the wall. The piece that will run into the corner you cut at a 45 angle, then use a coping saw to cut out the back material. This allows the piece to be adjusted for the not perfect wall, while still keeping the tight fit.