how do i tell the difference between a 5.0 and a 4 or 6 cyl.

Wolverine57

Feb 11, 2004
Georgia
hey whats up everybody :D :D :D

just thought i would see if yall could help me. I just turned 16 and i am looking for a car. My friend knows a guy who says he has a '83 5.0 mustang that he wants to get rid of for 500$.
Well, the problem is, i went to look at it and the guy wasn't home so i couldn't pop the hood and tell if it was really the 5.0, so i just looked at it from the outside in. I was looking at it and noticed that it only had a single exhaust, but i thought that the 5.0's only came with the double exhaust.
Im new to the mustang world, i only know about /6's, i drag race them. Ive looked all over the internet and havent been able to find out if they came with only a single or double exhaust. :shrug:
Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks yall

• Sponsors (?)

83 non GT's had a single pipe exiting the rear of the car. No fox mustnag (79-85) had true dual exhaust - that was not offered until 1986 - same year EFI was introduced and the 8.8 rear.

84 (I believe) came with two rear pipes - but 79-83 still had a single pipe from the factory.

On an 83 I am not sure how to tell w/o opening the hood. Was it a GT (says so on the side molding)?

www.mustanggt.org

moonenn3186 said:
84 (I believe) came with two rear pipes - but 79-83 still had a single pipe from the factory.
[/url]

'84 still had single exhaust.

In '85, ford went psuedo duals. They had two headers that converged into a single cat, then about 2 fit of single pipe before splitting into dual mufflers and dual tailpipes.

About the easiest way to tell if a car is a 5.0, is to look for 5.0 emblems on the side. Next up is wheels and tires.

thank yall
Im gonna go over there tomorrow and find out for shure.