How To: MSD Launch Master Installation.

Discussion in '2005 - 2009 Specific Tech' started by DarkFireGT, Jul 4, 2008.


  1. St Francisco

    St Francisco New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2009
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    See you've got a line lock in there...do you have an installation guide for that as well?
    #21
  2. timeless2

    timeless2 Vi Veri Veni Versum Vicus Vici Admin Dude

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 1999
    Messages:
    10,303
    Likes Received:
    92
    Trophy Points:
    89
    #22
  3. DarkFireGT

    DarkFireGT Playing with my wife's really makes me want one. Mod Dude

    Joined:
    May 23, 2004
    Messages:
    2,688
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    59
    Thanks Tim! :nice: :SNSign:
    #23
  4. St Francisco

    St Francisco New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2009
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    On a scale of 1-10, how easy would you say the line lock and rev limiter installations are?
    #24
  5. DarkFireGT

    DarkFireGT Playing with my wife's really makes me want one. Mod Dude

    Joined:
    May 23, 2004
    Messages:
    2,688
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    59
    1 easy 10 hard

    line lock - 4
    2 step - 3

    Neither are really hard, but the line lock takes more time than you'd think.
    #25
  6. autumn_again

    autumn_again New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2007
    Messages:
    365
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    well no what i'm saying is when i pull up to the lanes i rev it up to about 4k and dump the clutch in second to do my burn out, then when i pull up and stage i rev it to about 3500 to launch.

    when going to do the burn out it would limit me to 3500 if i'm understanding correctly. so thats why i want to wire a switch so i can turn it off and rev it higher to do the burn out, then flip the switch for the launch, but still use the reed switch on the clutch pedal.

    i know confusing and making a simple thing too complicated. i think too much. hah.:D
    #26
  7. DarkFireGT

    DarkFireGT Playing with my wife's really makes me want one. Mod Dude

    Joined:
    May 23, 2004
    Messages:
    2,688
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    59
    Oh ok. I got ya. You would just put a 2 way toggle switch inline before the reed switch then.
    #27
  8. autumn_again

    autumn_again New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2007
    Messages:
    365
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    just ordered the reed switch from that site you posted that you got it from, now i'm looking for the fuseable link that i would need

    i am pretty clueless so what would you recommend for a fuseable link? i am going to radioshack now to buy the wiring and the crimp ring terminals. i plan on ordering my 2 step tomorrow after i cash my check.
    #28
  9. autumn_again

    autumn_again New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2007
    Messages:
    365
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i ordered the 2 step tonight. got it from jegs so it should be here i'd say tues or wens. they are usually pretty quick.

    what size fuseable link did you use?
    #29
  10. DarkFireGT

    DarkFireGT Playing with my wife's really makes me want one. Mod Dude

    Joined:
    May 23, 2004
    Messages:
    2,688
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    59
    #30
  11. autumn_again

    autumn_again New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2007
    Messages:
    365
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    ok i'll have to go pick one of them up today, a advanced auto just opened up around the block a few months ago.

    any size fuse in particular? i tried looking on the MSD instructions but i didn't see any thing about adding a fusible link, is this just something you did as an extra precaution?
    #31
  12. 06StangBanger

    06StangBanger New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Showcase:
    6
    Albums:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I am in the process of re-wiring my entire nitrous electrical setup.
    I have added a 2 Step to the equation.
    It is not complete nor has it been tested, but this is the way I set up the 2 Step and Line Lock.

    I have separate toggle switches for the 2 Step and the Line Lock.
    Each switch supplies the positive to the individual device.
    I have a Hurst pistol grip shifter with a micro switch that is wired to ground.
    This supplies ground to both devices.

    So this is how it should work.
    When I do my burnout, I will turn the Line Lock toggle switch on and hold down the micro switch.
    When I am staged I will turn on both toggle switches and hold down the micro switch.
    This will engage both the Line Lock and the 2 Step.
    When the last yellow flashes I release the micro switch and away we go.

    Does my logic make sense ?
    #32
  13. autumn_again

    autumn_again New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2007
    Messages:
    365
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    ok so the reed switch will get here after the 2 step.

    can i wire up a regular toggle switch tomorrow when hte 2 step gets here and then when the reed gets here at the end of the week just swap it over? or will i have a problem driving with the toggle. i don't plan on using it till this weekend but i have plans for the end of the week so i wanna try to make it a quick job.

    i'll leave extra wiring slack so i can reach it to the clutch pedal when the reed switch gets here.
    #33
  14. DarkFireGT

    DarkFireGT Playing with my wife's really makes me want one. Mod Dude

    Joined:
    May 23, 2004
    Messages:
    2,688
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    59
    Sounds ok to me. Won't know till you try it.

    I think you should be ok. Just keep the toggle switch off until you get the reed switch.
    #34
  15. autumn_again

    autumn_again New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2007
    Messages:
    365
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    ugh. went to install today. no good.

    the light stays on but will not limit the rev. and it seems to have a slight miss. when i just plug in normal it seems fine.

    i can even unplug the add a fuse and the light stays lit.

    i didnt clip the other wire incase i needed t oswitch my wiring around, could this of caused it?
    #35
  16. DarkFireGT

    DarkFireGT Playing with my wife's really makes me want one. Mod Dude

    Joined:
    May 23, 2004
    Messages:
    2,688
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    59
    I'm not sure. I'm not good at diagnosing remotely. Have you tried switching the wiring harness on the 2 step?
    #36
  17. autumn_again

    autumn_again New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2007
    Messages:
    365
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    just an update. i got it to work and the car has been sitting to let it dry so the reed switch will stick. in probably a half hour or so i'll go out and try it out and make sure they didnt fall or anything. they seemed to be pretty good.


    my problem was the way i routed my wiring it wasn't long enough to reach the clutch pedal. i added another wire to the end of the white and blue, and it wouldn't work. i guess the wiring i have is screwed up or something, cause i tried the blue wire from the MSD unit and it worked great.

    now i have it routed to a hole under the master cylinder and it reached perfectly. actually had quite a few inches to spare.

    cant wait to test it out. got it set to 4200 now.
    #37

Share This Page