I'm married to a crazy, Danish broad
Founding Member
Oct 29, 1999
San Antonio. TX
Installing a CS rear bumper cover

For those that care to know....
View attachment 399871
View attachment 399873

DISCLAIMER:I am no mechanic, nor pretend to be. I'm self-teaching or just trying to use common sense. You might find your superior skills at mechanics might find an easier way of doing this, if so, please do! :D

You will need:The bumper cover (lol...Just a little humor to break the monotony), a 7/16" DEEP socket, Pop-rivet pulling tool or blade-type screwdriver, stubby Phillips-style screw driver, replacement rivets and pop-rivets in case you break any, 7/16 open-ended wrench, silicone.

Start: Through the trunk, remove the trim panel between the tail lamps, set aside. Remove tail lamps themselves, set aside. I found it easier to just remove the sockets from the assemblies themselves. This is what you will need the open ended wrench for. There are three bolts holding the tail lamps to the chassis. If you have the Shaker 1000 like I do, prepare for some fun with the passenger side lamp, muahaha.

Step 2:Using the stubby driver, remove the two screws holding the bumper to the chassis, just aft of the rear wheels. Some might find it easier to remove the wheels themselves, I thought it to be more time consuming so I got the stubbiest driver I could find and it worked. There are two screws on each side.

Step 3: Underneath the trim panel, there are four access holes that expose the four long screws holding the bumper and light assembly to the chassis, use the deep socket and remove all four. ***Be extremely careful when taking the bolts out, you will need to do this 'Operation' style ( as in the old game, Operation, don't touch the sides!!! )
View attachment 399875

Step 4:Underneath the car at the back, you will see three pop rivets holding the bumper cover to the car, remove these. Bumper is now ready to be 'pulled' off.
View attachment 399877