K&N Air Filter Cleaning

The package says clean every 50'000 miles? Did I misread or is that what it really says? I took mine off yesterday to take a look at it and it looks pretty dirty. Ive only had it on for like 15,000 miles. I went to Autozone and bought the cleaning kit. Should I wait till I hit 50,000 miles or can I clean it now?

• Sponsors (?)

You guys missing the point and cleaning the filter way too often. The filter works better the dirtier it gets....that's the idea. Cleaning it every 30k - 50k is perfect. You are not supposed to clean these things so frequently. Besides, the oil gets all over the MAF wires if you are not careful.

Just to prove a point, I have 45k on my K&N on a Suburban. The car is equipped with a flow sensor for the filter. This sensor is still in the green indicating that flow is good.

I have been using these filters for nearly 20 years and thius is how I always rplace them.

I think the 50,000 mile mark may be under optimum conditions. I use visual inspection and vehicle performance to gauge the proper time to recharge mine. If you have ever had a vehicle become sluggish because of a dirty filter, you will quickly recognize it when it happens again. Just my two cents, but that's how I handle it. :D

from K&N website: