Engine Motor is finally running but plugs are black, need some guidance please

Gnfanatic

5 Year Member
Sep 27, 2018
Long Island, NY
Hey guys, I hope I did not go the wrong route on this. I am new to the 5.0 world and purchased an 1989 GT and re-built the engine. Thanks to you guys on previous posts I was able to fix a few issues and now it is running. My friend sold me a Pro-M maf sensor that was calibrated for 42 lb injectors, that is obv a large ijector for a NA 302 but I figured the maf sensor would control them. So I have the FP at 39 vac off and my plugs are black and wet, car stalls when going into gear. I do not have a tune on this engine and winter is coming. I am hoping to get the rings seated and alignment done before snow comes. will it help if I lower my FP to say 35 or lower ? any help would be appreciated . I did a idle reset, tps voltage is at 9.72 and timing is stock.

302 NA
AFS streetheat heads
trickslow upper/lower and stage 1 cam
shorties
pro-m maf -42 lbs injectors
adj kirban fp reg on stock rails.

• Sponsors (?)

That tps voltage cant be right. i belive you had a typo. like 0.72 is what it was? if not reset to just under 1.00

I ran 42 lb/hr injectors on a 306 with zero issues but it was tuned. I will say that Pro-M calibrated MAF’s are typically pretty decent. Give them a call and have the info on the MAF ready to double check what the MAF is setup for. I want to say they are even set up for conical and flat panel air filters. Having the filter in the inner fender may also affect things.

You really should fire the motor on a stock MAF and 19 lb/hr injectors with iit not being tuned. You will wash the cylinders out with it running rich and the rings will never seat.

• Agree
Reactions: 1 user