Not another "which shifter" thread...

Discussion in '1979 - 1995 (Fox, SN95.0, & 2.3L) -General/Talk-' started by NIKwoaC, Oct 13, 2011.

1. NIKwoaC

NIKwoaC 中國製造

OK, it kinda is.

Went to the track last night, got 4 runs in, and of those 4 runs, I missed a gear on 3 of them. In order: missed 3rd, did OK, missed 3rd, missed 2nd.

Now, I've been driving this car for almost 10 years, so I have a hard time believing that my driving just really sucks that bad. But maybe it does, who knows. All I know is that shifting it at full tilt seems to be the bane of my existence.

Anyway, the car currently has an old BBK shifter in it that I've had for years. The function on this thing is questionable, I've had to change the springs on it at least once to get it to center itself properly in neutral. Other than that, though, driving around town it does not give me any trouble.

SO, the question is, would it be worth it for me to look into getting something like a Pro5.0 or a MGW? Or is it more likely my driving just sucks, and a new shifter would be just ****ing away money?

Thoughts? Be brutally honest here.

Yours truly,
    Nik withouta C

2. srtthis

srtthis the guy doing it does every local racers rear end

im very happy with my pro5.0... hopefully i time to finish machining my handle so i can REALLY beat on it again.

also something to look into is the knob you use... i had a steeda knob for awhile and while it didnt give me issues it left my hands black from the rubber grip on it. so i went back to the stock knob and i missed 2nd a few times from my hand coming off the shifter and 3rd a lot. went to a hurst pistol grip and never miss now. but ive broken the handle...

so before getting a new shifter WHY are you missing gears? hand coming off shifter? timing between hand and foot off? just not going in gear?

3. 90lxcoupe

90lxcoupe Mustang Master

Are you powershifting? Hows the clutch adjustment? What shifter knob are you using?