OBD1 Tester woes

Hello:

About 18 months ago, I purchased a INNOVA 3145 Ford Digital OBD1 Code Reader that I intended to use to support swapping the drivetrain from a 1987 TBird, that had Speed Dentisy EFI system. I completed the swap, and am having idle, AFR issues, etc. Since I have no experience using this tester, I’m not sure it’s not working. When I connect it and run the test, I get no codes or anything. The instructions are not very good, so they’ve not helped, and their doesn’t seem to be a group online that supports this device.

I was hoping one of you had experience with this so I could determine if the unit is bad or something I did with the wiring conversion is keeping the self-testing capabilities of the EEC-IV from working. Any help on that front you can provide is appreciated.

Also, is there a way I could determine if the ECU is providing codes? Or, can I verify if the test plug is sending data? Any help here would be appreciated.

Thank you.

• Sponsors (?)

Ok, when you turn the unit on you get a screen with three 0 (zeros). You press the test/memory button and nothing happens.

Yes, the stock wiring harness from the 87 TBird was swapped into the 73 Mustang. I did a wire by wire identification from the ECU harness and created a removable harness. Unfortunately, I did not retain the check engine light, but I maybe rethinking that and adding it into the car.

What is a good OBD1 tester if I choose to buy a replacement unit?

Did you swap a 5.0 from an '87 TBird? Also, define 'removable harness'. Did you cut every wire in half and install some sort of 60 pin connector between them? Sounds like there's a wiring concern between your data link connector and the ECU?

Ok, when you turn the unit on you get a screen with three 0 (zeros). You press the test/memory button and nothing happens.