Project ideas. New to the classics!!!!

Scott_95GT

Oct 8, 2004
Sacramento
I am a stangnet veteran, but a classic-stang newbie. I've owned two 95 GT's (including the one I have now) but I have little experience with the classics.

I want to start a project. Like everyone else, I would love to find that bone-stock, rust-free fastback sitting in the garage of an old lady, but I know thats not going to happen. So I'm thinking about looking into 65-66 coupes. I was thinking of a 4-speed/ mild 351 combo. I want something that runs easily on 91 octane, has plenty of torque, and has a nice mid-range powerband. I like the shelby hood, but I don't want to shelby-ize the whole car. Disks in front, 16' wheels all around with slightly more meat in the back. Possible roll bar, slightly lowered, updated suspension, ect, ect.

These are my thoughts, but I am looking for input. ANY input. I don't know where to start with this thing. And FYI, I DON'T CARE if it's not the fastest car on the street. High 13's are more than fine. I want it to hold it's own on the street, but nothing crazy. Thanks guys. I look forward to hearing your responses.

:flag:

• Sponsors (?)