question about fuel pressure guage install

notchnut

Founding Member
Mar 6, 2001
New England
I scored a used Auotmeter Ultralite 2 1/16 electric fuel pressure guage on EBAY for 80 bucks, its like new and came with the sending unit but I'm a noob with this guage and was wondering where I plumb in the sending unit o the fuel system, I'm assuming the fuel rail but I dont know where, anyone have pics of their set up? Thanks.

• Sponsors (?)

I scored a used Auotmeter Ultralite 2 1/16 electric fuel pressure guage on EBAY for 80 bucks, its like new and came with the sending unit but I'm a noob with this guage and was wondering where I plumb in the sending unit o the fuel system, I'm assuming the fuel rail but I dont know where, anyone have pics of their set up? Thanks.

see the valve on the passenger side fuel rail towards the front of the car? unscrew that and find a threaded fitting that fits both your sensor and the rail.

see the valve on the passenger side fuel rail towards the front of the car? unscrew that and find a threaded fitting that fits both your sensor and the rail.

you need an adapter to fit into the schrader valve - Autometer part # 3280.

OK, is that line under alot of pressure? I was under the assumption if I unscrew that fitting I would release the pressure in the system or is it only when the car is running? thanks man.

Correct - it does have pressure and it's still going to have some stored pressure when the car is off, but just wrap a towel around it and unscrew it slowly - not too much of a mess.

Attached are a couple pics of my setup. I went with Autometer's recommendation and remotely mounted the sensor (the engine vibrations tend to beat up on the sending unit). I made a mount out of scrap aluminum, a small piece of foam, a couple washers epoxied to the back (acting as spacers) and a mini hose clamp.