Stangnet got me let go from work

bdcardinal

tree hugger
Jun 10, 2003
santa barbara, CA
hey all,

i know ive tried to help people a lot with any emissions related questions. however, higher ups at my work decided that i shouldnt have done this and they let me go from work today. it totally blows too, my job kicked ass, i got to see awesome cars and meet some cool people.

anyway, people were misunderstanding stuff i was saying, i NEVER said i was a referee, people just didnt seem to understand that. im still going for my smog license, and if you have any emissions related questions i will be glad to help out, prefereably through email or IMs.

just to let you know the BAR has been on this page, so it might be a good idea to not list any mods you have done to the car if you live in CA.

let this be a reminder that stangnet is a public forum and people read this forum.

• Sponsors (?)

Sorry to hear that, man - that bites! Had you logged on at work? (I am only logging on when I'm at work, so I'm just curious.) How did they know what posts were yours...and how on earth can they justify firing you for offering your insight? Crappy deal!

Many businesses don't allow employees to surf the web at all unless it's for business purposes only...The place I work is like that too, but they place filters on a lot of sites so employees can only view websites that are work related...I can't believe a warning wasn't involved though...We have a first and final policy with our web usage...get caught a 2nd time and adios...

i talked with a lawyer and he said that i should be able to file an appeal. if the appeal isnt granted, then i could have grounds to sue on 1. wrongful termination, 2. harrassment(the BAR was harsassing me by following my online activity without a warrent), 3. violation of 1st ammendment right to free speach. i dont want to go that far, but this is really annoying, especially since there isnt a confidentiality policy.