#$%@ Starter Bolts!!!!

Mike94ZLT1

Jul 15, 2002
Livonia, MI
Hey guys, I'm helping my friend change his clutch on a 99 GT. I have NEVER worked on a Mustang newer than 1989 before, so this is an absolute nightmare. I have all the bolts for the bellhousing off, and 2 of the starter bolts off. There's one bolt at the top, and the only reason I know its there is because I went to Auto Zone and looked at a 4.6 starter. I cant reach it, I cant feel it, hell I cant even see it. How do I get it off??? Thanks a million!!!

• Sponsors (?)

Mike, I just changed my starter yesterday, and I feel your pain. The engineer who designed this thing should have sensitive parts of his body put in a vise, Joe Pesci-style. And the brain trust who wrote the directions in the Haynes manual should be right behind him. Haynes shows 3 pictures how to remove a friggin battery, and only ONE of the starter. And that pic doesn't even show where the hidden bolt is. No diagram, descrip, nada. In fact, the caption says the top bolt is "hidden from view" followed by about 5 sentences of instructions that go something like disconnect battery, remove bolts, install. Thanks for the obvious, MENSA candidates. But I digress. Here's how I did it (with help from a very good friend).

Tools:
* 13 mm socket
* 3/8" drive socket
* an assortment of extensions (not trying to be vague, but I'm not sure what you have. I would recommend using a couple of the short extensions on the end closest to the socket to give some wiggle room for the offset.)
* universal joint

I wish I had a picture of the setup of extensions used, but we were celebrating getting the bolt off, so I forgot. It seems like it went: socket, universal, long extension, med extension, two short extensions, socket. Play around with it.

Where to find the bolt:
1. Get under the car (safely jacked up, wheels chocked and supported by multiple jack stands, of course).