symptoms of a bad TPS sensor

Discussion in '1979 - 1995 (Fox, SN95.0, & 2.3L) -General/Talk-' started by 1995GTStang, Apr 26, 2009.


  1. 1995GTStang

    1995GTStang New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2009
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Washington State
    What are they symptoms of a bad TPS sensor??

    My idle is rough.....well rougher than normal. I checked for vacuum leaks and found nothing. I have already replaced the IAC valve.

    The idle acts like I am running a huge cam. It has crane 1.7 roller rockers and some larger looking than stock springs.
    I am pretty sure that even if there was a cam installed it would not be this bad. What should the voltage be on the TPS and how is the best way to check??

    Thanks
     
    #1
  2. inphiniti

    inphiniti Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2003
    Messages:
    431
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Providence, RI
    clean ur MAF, it might help a little bit... but if im not mistaken the tps should be around .98 i think... i could very well be wrong though
     
    #2
  3. MotiV8ed_95GT

    MotiV8ed_95GT Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 1998
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    7
    Location:
    Monkton, MD
    Is the timing off? That could be causing the rough idle. My wiring was bad and my TPS sensor was not working at all and my car idled fine.

    Ross
     
    #3
  4. HISSIN50

    HISSIN50 "How long does it take to get help in here? SN Certified Technician

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 1999
    Messages:
    31,148
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    79
    IIRC the top wire is ground, middle is signal and bottom is VREF.

    Look for a clean sweep from baseline to WOT, with no breaks in the reading.
     
    #4
  5. 1995GTStang

    1995GTStang New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2009
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Washington State
    I set the timing at 13 degrees after installing the gt40 intake. But the idle has been rough since I purchased the car.
    It idles like there is a very large cam in the car. It is not like its miss firing or pinging when I accelerate, if anything it is highly possible the car is OVER camm'd.

    I do not know much of the history of this car. I got a smoking deal on it (probably for the above reasons). It is just odd....I expected this idle to smooth out after installing the new intake. I fixed and replaced all the bad vacuum lines and anything that appeared to be frayed.

    What is the largest cam you can put into these with stock E7 heads?? It might just be the cam is counter productive.

    Thanks
     
    #5
  6. revhead347

    revhead347 I have face herpes.

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2004
    Messages:
    6,616
    Likes Received:
    286
    Trophy Points:
    124
    Location:
    Acworth, GA
    Basically anything bigger than a stock cam on stock E7s is counter productive.

    Kurt
     
    #6
  7. tstang21

    tstang21 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Messages:
    219
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    on what i hear that you dont have to adjust the tps voltage on sn95s unlike the foxes. clean the maf but also check the PIP sensor located inside the distributor.. just food for thought
     
    #7
  8. HISSIN50

    HISSIN50 "How long does it take to get help in here? SN Certified Technician

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 1999
    Messages:
    31,148
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    79
    For the conversion guys, you don't have to adjust the TPS on a fox either. It either can baseline itself or it will set a code.
     
    #8

Share This Page