The Reenmachine DOHC '67 Shelby Clone Convertible Progress

Discussion in 'Classic Mustang Specific Tech' started by reenmachine, Apr 17, 2005.


  1. BB1966

    BB1966 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2004
    Messages:
    297
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Beaufort , NC USA!!!!
    Man Reen that looks SO great I just cant get over it!!!! I wish I had gone that route and not listened to others that say it does not work good....thats what I get! Pics of the IRS soon???
  2. Mike Erickson

    Mike Erickson New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Montana
    Hey reenmachine

    I must use a classic line from a great movie.

    "NICE BEAVER" :nice:
  3. Edbert

    Edbert Founding Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2002
    Messages:
    3,445
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    59
    Location:
    Austin TX
    Reen's car or BB avatard?
  4. geostang351

    geostang351 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2005
    Messages:
    965
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    17
    Location:
    Danb., CT
  5. stangman16

    stangman16 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Messages:
    624
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    27
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    Can we get a sticky for this thread too? Awsome project you've got going there!
  6. 65myway

    65myway New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2004
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Melbourne, FL
    Reenmachine,

    Looking at the pics you posted of the fuel rails, it looks as if you may have them on backwards. It looks like you can flip the rail (put the current front opening on the rail toward the back of the intake). If you did this, the mounting brackets will be mounted on the inside of the rail and it looks like they may line up better with the mounting holes in the intake.
  7. 84convertablegt

    84convertablegt New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2004
    Messages:
    590
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Columbus, OH
    Good call, i was just gonna suggest that. it would look cleaner anyway with the bolts facing away out of sight. :banana:
  8. reenmachine

    reenmachine Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2004
    Messages:
    1,253
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Ventura, CA
    Doesn't work that way. C'mon guys, give me some credit!

    I went back and forth with the Aeromotive tech guys and apparently my intake must have come from a lot that doesn't have the same rail bosses as the one they designed the rails around. It basically ended with them asking me to let them know what I come up with so they can incorporate the fix into their kit. I modified the mounting brackets and they work now. I'll post pics later on.
  9. SN65

    SN65 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Messages:
    539
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    Hi Reen,

    Looks like you will have to make a new bracket. It appears (at least from the photos) that after you bend the tab, the current mounting hole will end up off center (to low). Also, in order to get the bolt to seat properly, you are going to have to make some kind of modified washer to fit over the top.

    But, I am sure you will come up with something pretty slick. Post a photo when you are done so that we can see the final fix.

    Also, the things you are going through (electrical and fuel system management) were some of the reasons we approached our project in the manner we did. When I looked at the work required to get the harness modified, I kind of freaked out.

    How are you going to resolve the ignition/security issue???

    Bob
  10. reenmachine

    reenmachine Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2004
    Messages:
    1,253
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Ventura, CA
    Just a small bend to the brackets made it work perfectly. It was fairly clear from the beginning (if you had the stuff in front of you to look at) that this would work, it's just that I didn't expect to have a problem like this from Aeromotive. So, I went through the paces to make sure there wasn't something obvious I was missing first.

    As far as the electronics go, I think I have a slam dunk. Remember that I said that because I'll probably regret it in the future! :p :p I'm not reusing a single wire from the factory harness. Yes, everything will still be mass-air, CA emissions legal, Ford-serviceable, EEC-V, etc. All of the stuff is on the way and that will obviously be the major project over the coming weeks. PATS supposedly won't be a problem.

    A couple of pics of the fuel rails:

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
  11. BB1966

    BB1966 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2004
    Messages:
    297
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Beaufort , NC USA!!!!
    Hey Reen,is that your compays suspension kit?? If no who do you use? If so what does the tubular kit run?? I looked around the sites but I could not find it.
  12. reenmachine

    reenmachine Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2004
    Messages:
    1,253
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Ventura, CA
    If you're talking about the front suspension, it's the Heidt's deluxe.
  13. SN65

    SN65 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Messages:
    539
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    Hi RM,

    From the angle I was looking at, I thought the edge of the bolt would be right up against the fuel rail, but seeing the finished install, I can see that that was not the case.

    So... From the sounds of it, you are going to have to wire the project from the ground up yourself. Is that right, or can you get some kind of aftermarket harness that will get you at least started in the right direction???

    I was facing the modification of the Cobra harness and that was a really intimidating proposition. The PATS was going to be a nightmare. Everyone I talked to said that there was no way around it. The logic was in the computer system and there was no known over ride.

    Good luck with the wiring. I look forward to seeing your solutions to the issues that will arise during assembly.

    Bob
  14. BB1966

    BB1966 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2004
    Messages:
    297
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Beaufort , NC USA!!!!
    Cool,thanks I have been looking at the Heidt's after you posted the pics I think that is going to be a "must have"!!
  15. SN65

    SN65 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Messages:
    539
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    Hi RM,

    Just curious, how long is it???

    From start to finish I mean. When did you start and when will you finish. My project is going to be just about 1 year when complete.

    Bob
  16. reenmachine

    reenmachine Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2004
    Messages:
    1,253
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Ventura, CA
    That's about what it will end up being with this car as well, and that's pretty typical of a major project in my experience. It was at the paint shop longer than anticipated and I had a couple of other projects (for customers, test car, etc.) along the way.
  17. reenmachine

    reenmachine Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2004
    Messages:
    1,253
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Ventura, CA
    Check it out boys -- got the engine and tranny in (hopefully for good) today! All that remains to finish the drivetrain is to add an aluminum driveshaft. I was planning on calling Inland Empire Driveline. Anyone have any other suggestions?

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
  18. Route666

    Route666 Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2003
    Messages:
    1,655
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    39
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    Suggestion - carbon fibre driveshaft.

    EDIT: The car's looking very good too!
  19. reenmachine

    reenmachine Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2004
    Messages:
    1,253
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Ventura, CA
    I'll check that out. I used to have an '03 350Z that had a CF driveshaft, and they're not actually that much more expensive than a good aluminum one if I recall correctly.
  20. BB1966

    BB1966 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2004
    Messages:
    297
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Beaufort , NC USA!!!!
    Nice!!! Carbon shaft REAL nice!!!!

Share This Page