Yet Another Problem...MAJOR

earleys94gt

Aug 31, 2003
Ashley, Ohio
The other day my worst suspicions were confirmed, one of my heads is cracked. I found this out when I got a new water pump put on my car and we did a cooling system "compression" test. This was after we also discovered that my water pump's bottom bolt was rubbing against my harmonic balancer, which was also replaced. So, not only does my head have a crack in it, but my car still seems to be pinging from every cylinder! I have done everything from check the timing to putting a new battery in the car to solve that problem, and my car still pings whenever I give it throttle; no matter how little or how much.
Anyways, I need new heads. The only problem is I am a broke college student, and my only option is to do a "ghetto" fix and do only heads, and supporting hardware, but nothing else like air, fuel etc. I know this is not the way to get better performance, but if I can get the car to a point where I can drive it reliably and not have it break on me thats good enough. At this point I am not concerned with performance, that can come later. I just don't want to have my mustang siting in the driveway during nice weather because of a cracked head. Comments/Suggestions welcome!!!

• Sponsors (?)

earleys94gt said:
The other day my worst suspicions were confirmed, one of my heads is cracked. I found this out when I got a new water pump put on my car and we did a cooling system "compression" test. This was after we also discovered that my water pump's bottom bolt was rubbing against my harmonic balancer, which was also replaced. So, not only does my head have a crack in it, but my car still seems to be pinging from every cylinder! I have done everything from check the timing to putting a new battery in the car to solve that problem, and my car still pings whenever I give it throttle; no matter how little or how much.