68 fastback GT

stallion98gt

May 12, 2003
Los Angeles, CA
after watching the movie BULLITT...I'm thinking of getting a 68 fastback GT with a 390 as a week end car...as I am really new to classic mustangs but not to mustangs (I owned a 98GT and now I have a 01GT) I was wondering if you guys can give me tips on where to find one and how much $$ are we talking...what are the classic mistakes a newbie buyer has to be aware of..?..thanks !!!!

• Sponsors (?)

zookeeper said:
Price-wise, you can count on at least $10,000 for a decent car, and close to twice that for a show-quality car. As far as advice, try to buy a rust-free car above all else. Rust is the bane of all classic Mustang.
I see..it's decent price....what are good places to find one online ?..any store to recommend in California who sell some ?
also what are the specs of that 390 engine ? (i'm only familiar with modular motors... :shrug: )

Check with "THe Mustang Ranch" in Fresno, they sell decent cars for a fair price (at least that's what I've been told). You can also go to "www.vintage-mustang.com" and they have a wanted ads section in there. Just list what you are looking for and that you want it within driving distance of the Bay Area. Whether you go that route or ebay---- DO NOT BUY A CAR SIGHT UNSEEN!!! Make sure you check it over top to bottom for any hidden problems. The typical rust points on a vintage mustang are:
the cowl area, the floorpans (chekc under the car), the rear quarters, the trunk drop-offs on each side and then also check over the frame rails and around the front/rear window frames.

71resto said: