95 5.0 Newbie

Lorenzo

Aug 3, 2015
Sacramento, Ca
Hey guys, I am very new to the EFI world and just started to work on my 95 vert. Right now I am dumping money on parts after parts in this car and I have yet to figure my problem out. My wife wanted to use my car a few weeks ago when it had a small radiator leak. I told her to watch the gauge. She did.... the OIL gauge! Yup, over heated. So just as I saw the gauge, I added water in it and it was fine. I wasn't 2 min after I added the water when the idle went up to 2k rpm in park. It never came down. I did some research and replaced the engine coolant temp gauge (the big one on the passenger side of the intake man. Upgraded the radiator to a 3 row aluminum, replaced the water pump gasket and the timing cover gasket (water was leaking from there as well) Replaced both radiator hoses. I cleaned up the IAC, the MAF, and the throttle body. Checked for vacuum leaks, and checked the voltage on the IAC and TPS. All checked out fine.... still idling at 2k rpms. I did have an issue with the MAF a while back ago, but after I ran a q tip with rubbing alcohol on it, she ran fine. Now when I disconnect the MAF the car settles into a nice 800 rpm idle, kinda shaky though. I'm about to buy a new MAF, but wanted some professional advice before I dump more money into this car. Thanks
20150513_151509.jpg

• Sponsors (?)