Body work on my '88 GT Questions/Opinions please.

DARCA

Nov 19, 2008
Tacoma, WA
Ok, I my Stang has a few dants and some rust I would like to take care of.

First questions:
IMG_2384.jpg
IMG_2377.jpg

How hard will it be to remove and replace this bent (I honestly don't know what to call it) Cowling here? What things should I know and honestly should a n00b like myself attempt to replace this on my own?

Second Question:
IMG_2379.jpg
IMG_2378.jpg

What would be the best way to pop this dent?

Third Question:
I have a few spots of surface rust, just sanding these and spraying them should solve the problem right?

I am very new to this kind of thing and just want to get the best clarification I can before I do something stupid.

-Thanks.

My GT:
IMG_2385.jpg

Attachments

• IMG_2384.jpg
    IMG_2384.jpg
    70.7 KB · Views: 35
  • IMG_2377.jpg
    IMG_2377.jpg
    48.9 KB · Views: 40
  • IMG_2379.jpg
    IMG_2379.jpg
    56.8 KB · Views: 39
  • IMG_2378.jpg
    IMG_2378.jpg
    64.6 KB · Views: 42
  • IMG_2385.jpg
    IMG_2385.jpg
    69.7 KB · Views: 43
  • Sponsors (?)

Bodywork isnt something most guys can do and make it look good.

1. It takes skills to replace the cowl, there is cutting and welding involved, I heard that it's a JOB, if you're a novice dont do it.

2. You might be better off getting another door, I would imagine getting that 'character line' above the molding back is a PITA and expensive.

3. Get some stuff called Rust Converter at autozone or someplace, and buy the stuff in the bottle that you have to brush on, the spray sucks. Sand the rust down, spread the converter and then paint it. It may not look the best, but it will keep the car from rusting and looking really bad until you can get a paint job.